Limerick ladies claim league title

Limerick ladies claim league title

Two goals each from captain Dymphna O’Brien and Niamh Holland helped the Limerick ladies to a 4-8 to 1-10 win over Antrim in the Lidl National League Division 4 final in Clane on Saturday.

Having lost finals in 2015, 2012 and 2010, Limerick got over the line at last – with seven points to spare in this decider.

With the wind at their backs, Limerick started well and Holland got the first goal after just four minutes. O’Brien added the second on ten minutes and at half time Limerick were 2-5 to 0-4 in front.

O’Brien got her second goal two minutes into the second half and Limerick stretched 12 points clear midway through the half.

The sin-binning of Holland and Megan Gallagher allowed Antrim to rally somewhat but Limerick finished strong and Holland struck for her second goal late on to seal a comprehensive win.

SCORERS – Limerick: D O’Brien 2-5 (0-3f), N Holland 2-0, N Richardson 0-2, S Carroll 0-1. Antrim: E Gallagher 1-3, C Timoney (1f) and A McParland 0-2 each, C Carey, Á Tubridy & M Cooper 0-1 each.

LIMERICK: M Giltenane; M O’Shea, A Neary, O Giltenane; K Reidy, S O’Sullivan, C Mee; N Richardson, Y Moynihan; C Coughlan, S Moloney, S Carroll; D O’Brien, L Hanley, N Holland. Subs: M Kelleher for O’Sullivan (36), C Hickey for Carroll (36), R Delee for Coughlan (40), B Flanagan for Mee (52), E Fealy for O Giltenane (56).

ANTRIM: A McCann; S Tennyson, E Kelly, N McKeown; S Cochrane, N Kelly, J McCavana; C Carey, Á Tubridy; M Cooper, C Timoney, A McFarland; E Mallon, E Gallagher, M McCurdy. Subs: N Cooper for Cochrane (36), A Devlin for McCurdy (40), D O’Kane for Tubridy (48), N Enright for Mallon (51).

Referee: D McEnery (Westmeath).

- For more on this game see the weekend print edition of the Limerick Leader