Johnny Holland retains starting spot for Munster's clash with Connacht

Johnny Holland retains starting spot for Munster's clash with Connacht

Johnny Holland has retained his place on the Munster team for Saturday’s Guinness Pro12 game against Connacht in the Sportsground.

Holland impressed against Leinster the last day out - scoring all of the side’s 13 points - but was replaced at a critical juncture by Ian Keatley, a decision that has caused considerable controversy since.

There are three changes to the side that started that game with Mike Sherry replacing Niall Scannell, Jack O’Donoghue in for the injured Dave O'Callaghan and Darren Sweetnam picked ahead of Andrew Conway.

The Connacht team also shows three changes from their most recent outing – last Saturday’s Challenge Cup quarter-final loss to Grenoble.

Peter Robb, Ali Muldowney and Eoin McKeown all come into the starting team. Robbie Henshaw is named at full-back with Matt Healy on the wing. Shane O’Leary continues at out-half.

The game is a sell-out and is being broadcast live on TG4 and Sky Sports.

The Munster team in full is: Simon Zebo; Keith Earls, Francis Saili, Rory Scannell, Darren Sweetnam; Johnny Holland, Conor Murray; James Cronin, Mike Sherry, Stephen Archer; Billy Holland, Donnacha Ryan; CJ Stander, Tommy O’Donnell, Jack O’Donoghue. Replacements: Niall Scannell, Dave Kilcoyne, John Ryan, Robin Copeland, Jordan Coughlan, Tomas O’Leary, Ian Keatley, Andrew Conway.

Connacht: Robbie Henshaw; Niyi Adeolokun, Bundee Aki, Peter Robb, Matt Healy, Shane O’Leary, Kieran Marmion; Denis Buckley, Tom McCartney, Finlay Bealham; Ultan Dillane, Aly Muldowney, Sean O’Brien, Eoin McKeon, John Muldoon (captain). Replacements: Jason Harris-Wright, Ronan Loughney, JP Cooney, Andrew Browne, James Connolly, John Cooney, Jack Carthy, Fionn Carr.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.