05 Jul 2022

Boylan is Limerick's Young Sports Star of the Year for 2016

Boylan is Limerick's Young Sports Star of the Year for 2016

TEENAGE hurler Conor Boylan is Limerick’s Young Sports Star of the Year for 2016.

The rising star of Limerick and Na Piarsaigh was announced as the overall winner at a gala luncheon at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Ennis Road, this Friday afternoon.

What a year it was for Conor Boylan in 2016…..

In February he was part of the Ardscoil Ris team that won a fourth Harty Cup title for the Limerick city secondary school.

With that school team he progressed to play in the TG4 televised All Ireland Colleges Final in Thurles on Easter Monday. Defeat was to be their lot in that decider against Kilkenny kingpins St Kierans College.

But March was to be a big month for Boylan.

On St Patricks Day he was part of the Na Piarsaigh panel as the Caherdavin GAA club won Limerick’s first All Ireland club SHC title in Croke Park.

The silverware in the light blue of Na Piarsaigh didn’t end there. In September the wing forward won the Limerick Premier U-21 hurling championship as the club completed a five-in-a-row.

Then in November, he was on the starting team as Na Piarsaigh won the Limerick junior A hurling championship to become the only club in the county with senior and intermediate teams.

To cap it all off, Conor was captain of the Na Piarsaigh team that won the Limerick minor hurling championship.

In the green of Limerick, Boylan was an ever present in the county minor hurling team from April to September.

He played in both the Munster and All Ireland finals – albeit both were lost to Tipperary.

The Limerick Sports Star award which is organised by the Limerick Radisson Blu Hotel and Spa and the Limerick Leader honours the outstanding sporting candidate for their achievements in a given month. The winners are announced monthly but presented quarterly at a lunch in the Limerick Radisson Blu. Each monthly winner is presented with a personalised silver presentation plate from Keane’s Jewellers.  

The judging panel for the Limerick Sports Star Awards ie: Colm Kinsella (Acting Sports Editor, Limerick Leader); Jerome O’Connell (GAA Correspondent, Limerick Leader); Steven Miller (former Limerick Leader Sports Editor), Pat Price (Limerick Radisson Blu Hotel and Spa); Stephen Lucey (former Limerick hurler and footballer); Dave Mahedy (UL Director of Sport).



January – Jenna Bromell (Emerald AC)

February – Richie English (Mary I Fitzgibbon Cup)

March – Laura Stack (Milford Camogie)

April – Anthony Barrett (Limerick minor hurling & football and Limerick Youths Soccer)

May – John Hayes (Limerick Desmond League U-15);

June - Ben Betts (Ireland U-20 Rugby)

July – Ciara Neville (Athletics)

August - Limerick Golf Club (All Ireland U-18 Fred Daly Trophy winners)

September - Brian Ryan (Limerick minor hurler)

October – Daniel Enright (Monaleen Gaelic Football)

November - Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh GAA)

December - Nathan Moore (Basketball)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.