27 Nov 2021

Limerick authors shortlisted in Bord Gais Book of the Year awards

Limerick authors shortlisted in Bord Gais Book of the Year awards

The shortlisted Limerick authors in the Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards

THREE authors are flying the flag for Limerick in the upcoming Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards 2016.

Hundreds of books were submitted for consideration this year and the public is now being asked to cast their votes on the best books of the year online.

Votes may be cast until midnight on November 11. 

Rugby legend Paul O'Connell's The Battle is up for sports book of the year, and is currently holding the number one spot in the Irish bestsellers' list.

Co-written by Alan English, former editor of the Limerick Leader, and written over the course of seven years, it is up against five other books – Blood, Sweat & McAteer by Jason McAteer; Coolmore Stud, Ireland’s Greatest Sporting Success Story by Alan Conway; My Life in Rugby by Donal Lenihan; Out of Control – Cathal Mc Carron, and Win or Learn by John Kavanagh.

Donal Ryan's widely praised novel All We Shall Know is up for Eason Novel of the Year.

The latest work by the Tipperary native, who is writer-in-residence at the University of Limerick, has also been shortlisted for the RTÉ Radio 1’s The Ryan Tubridy Show Listener’s Choice Award.

William Ryan's The Constant Soldier is up for the Crime Fiction Award.

Ryan's fourth work, The Constant Soldier, is a standalone novel set in an idyllic Silesian village in the autumn of 1944. 

Educated in Glenstal Abbey School and Trinity College Dublin, he gave up his job as a corporate lawyer in the City of London after 18 years to concentrate on writing.

The Irish Times described it as a "beguiling blend, a spy novel-cum-historical thriller that offers a gripping but nuanced narrative set against the horrors of the absolute abuse of absolute power. It’s a bleak but rewarding novel about guilt, personal and shared, and taking responsibility for your actions, even if doing so offers no possibility of reward." 

The awards will take place on November 16 at The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, Upper Leeson Street Upper, Dublin.

Voting is now open at

To continue reading this archived article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.