Search our Archive


SLIDESHOW: On this day in 2009: Limerick come up agonisingly short in Munster football final

LIMERICK senior footballers came within a whisker of stunning Cork in the Munster senior football final at Páirc Uí Chaoimh on this day in 2009.

Gallant Limerick gave Cork the fright of their lives before ultimately losing out to the Leesiders on a 2-6 to 0-11 scoreline.

Mickey Ned O’Sullivan’s excellently-prepared team had been hoping to the end a then 113-year Munster football championship final hoodoo.

SCORERS: Cork: D Goulding, 1-3; D O’Connor, 1-1 frees; J Masters and C O’Neill, 0-1 each.

Limerick: I Ryan, 0-4; S Buckley, 0-3; P Ranahan, G Collins, S Lavin and S Kelly 0-1 each.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.