‘Community spirit’ witnessed at Going for Gold grand finale

Fintan Walsh


Fintan Walsh

HUNDREDS of volunteers from around the city shared their community spirit, as the highly-anticipated grand finale of the 2013 Limerick Going for Gold competition saw Annacotty announced as overall winners this week.

An abundance of popular local faces filled the Strand Hotel as the announcement of the winners of the four Going for Gold categories started at 3pm.

The overall Going for Gold Tidy Towns competition wrapped up the event, and Annacotty became the new holder of the prestigious title, winning €15,000.

Caherdavin left with second place and €10,000, and former champions Janesboro came third with €6,000. Woodlawn Park took home €4,000 with their fourth place achievement.

Carrabullawn were “delighted” with their position in fifth and a “generous” €3,000. Spring Grove also took home €3,000.

Mayor of Limerick Cllr Kathleen Leddin said she and the judges were “impressed” with the each team’s “community spirit”.

“There are no losers in the Limerick Going for Gold competition. I want to commend each and everyone of you for getting involved this year.”

The four categories were: the Community Challenge; Individual Merit; Most Beautiful Front Garden; and Tidy Towns.

Master of ceremonies, the ILoveLimerick driving force Richard Lynch, began with the Community Challenge award, which was “about making a difference in the area but are not ready to jump into the Tidy Towns competition”.

Silverbrook Residents Association came third and took home €1,000. Glantann Residents Association landed second place, along with €1,500. The winner, with a grand prize of €3,000, was South Limerick City Residents Association. Five runners up received €500 each.

“I don’t think I have ever felt so proud in my life,” said one of the winning volunteers, Valerie O’Connor, from the stage at the Strand Hotel.

Six people were selected, out of 18 nominations, for the Individual Merit award, and each were given customised gold medals.

The winners were Sean Mangan, Moyross; Kevin O’Dwyer, Ballinacurra Weston Sean Gibbons, St Patricks Road; George Gleeson, Rosbrien Road; Stephen Keary, Gurteen Gardens, and Smith Gautam, St Joseph’s Place.

The Most Beautiful Front Garden first prize, which was sponsored by the Parkway Shopping Centre, was won by Teresa and Gerry Ryan, of Greenfields. Robert Byrne, Kennedy Park, took home the silver, as Sarah Connolly, St Joseph’s Street, came third.