Video: Limerick students receive JP McManus scholarships

David Hurley


David Hurley

EIGHT former students from CBS, Sexton Street have become the latest recipients of JP McManus scholarships.

The eight - Bryan Collopy, Ross Conway, Aaron Griffin, Roy Hartigan, Sam Mullins, Alex Naughton, John O’Dea and Killian Woods - completed their Leaving Certificate Examinations in June and and are all now attending University or College in Limerick.

Each of them will receive €6,750 a year through the scholarship scheme for the duration of their third-level studies.

“It removes all of the stress and worry from parents and guardians and family about how they are going to fund their son’s college education, they don’t have to worry about that. The students themselves don’t have to worry about having to find a part-time job and they can focus on their studies and put all their efforts and energy into that,” said Tom Prendergast, principal of CBS, Sexton Street.

Since the JP McManus Scholarship Awards were established in 1996, 137 students from CBS Sexton Street have received scholarships at a total cost of almost €2.4m.

The scholarship scheme, which currently costs around €185,000 a year, is administered by four trustees - Gerry Boland, Noel Earlie, Eddie Fallon and Pat Hartigan - on behalf of JP McManus, who is a past pupil of CBS Sexton Street.

Sam Mullins, one of this year’s recipients, says the scholarship has provided each of the students with an amazing opportunity,

“This award is of great benefit to us and not just financially, we are now part of a tradition - a select group of high achievers, many of whom have gone on to excel at their professions,” he said at the awards ceremony.

“It is a magnificent feeling to have your hard work recognised in such a manner and this award opens great doors for us and we owe Mr McManus hugely for that,” he added.

The guest of honour at the awards ceremony was former CBS, Sexton Street student, Sean Burke, who was recently appointed as CEO of the Limerick and Clare Education and Training Board.

The Mayor of Limerick, Cllr Kathleen Leddin and the Cathaoirleach of Limerick County Council, Cllr John Sheahan attended the awards ceremony.

Other guests included representatives of the University of Limerick, Limerick Institute of Technology and Mary Immaculate College.

Each of the primary schools which the scholarship recipients attended were also represented.

See this weekend’s print edition of the Limerick Leader for full coverage and pictures.