04 Dec 2021

Treaty Utd secure gritty draw with Kevin Sheedy's Waterford FC in historic fixture

Treaty United

Joel Coustrain had the distinction of scoring Treaty United's first goal in men's senior football on Tuesday night

TREATY United's first ever senior men's fixture ended in a gritty 1-1 draw with Premier Division Waterford FC at WIT Arena, Waterford on Tuesday night.

The distinction of scoring the first ever goal for Treaty United' in senior men's football fell to former Corbally United schoolboy star Joel Coustrain, who had had spells at Shamrock Rovers and Cork City in recent seasons.

This was First Division Treaty United's first pre-season friendly ahead of the start of their league campaign later this month.

Waterford FC are managed this season by former Everton and Rep of Ireland midfielder Kevin Sheedy, who is assisted by Mike Newell.

Twenty five-year-old Joel Coustrain, who also previously had spells at Sheffield United and Raith Rovers, fired the Tommy Barrett-managed Treaty side into a 17th minute lead when he converted from close range.

It had been a bright opening period from Treaty with Sean McSweeney striking the woodwork early on.

Two quick saves in quick concession by Treaty's Cappamore goalkeeper Tadhg Ryan paved the way for former Rep of Ireland under-age international Coustrain to open the scoring.

Treaty manager Tommy Barrett made a host of substitutions at the change of ends as Kieran Hanlon, Shane Cusack, Callum McNamara, Mark Walsh, Alan Murphy and William Armshaw replaced Ryan, Fleming, Coustrain, O'Donnell, Lowth and O'Dwyer.

Premier Division Waterford drew level, however, when John Martin got the final touch following a free-kick.

Treaty United kick off their SSE Airtricity League First Division campaign against Bray Wanderers at the Carlisle Grounds on Friday, March 26.

TREATY UNITED: Tadhg Ryan, Charlie Fleming, Clyde O'Connell, Anthony O'Donnell, Sean McSweeney, Matt Keane, Sean Lowth, Joel Coustrain, Edmond O'Dwyer, Dean George, Jack Lynch. Subs: Shane Cusack, Kieran Hanlon, Alan Murphy, William Armshaw, Mark Walsh, Callum McNamara. 

WATERFORD FC: Connor (Capt), O'Keeffe, Brennan, Collins, Stafford, Trialist A, Sobowale, Mashigo, Griffin, Kavanagh, Mutswunguma. Subs: P Martin, J Martin, Phelan, Trialist B, O Reilly, Trialist C, C Power.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.