Limerick hurling team again shows changes for Allianz League tie in Cork


Kyle Hayes set for his first start of the 2020 season

LIMERICK have again opted to makes changes to their team for Sunday's Allianz Hurling League tie away to Cork.

John Kiely and his backroom team have handed a first appearance of the 2020 season to Kyle Hayes at centre forward and a first appearance of the league to UCC's Fitzgibbon Cup winning captain Paddy O'Loughlin at wing back.

Hayes will become the 33rd Limerick player to feature this season.

It's a Limerick team that shows four changes from the side that was named to start against Waterford in the Storm Dennis postponed game last weekend. And, there are six changes from the team that took the field against Galway in the last outing - three weeks ago.

With Morrissey brothers Dan and Tom, Graeme Mulcahy and Barry Nash among those listed in the substitutions, Darragh O'Donovan is in line to be the only player to have started all seven games this season between the Munster, and Allianz League campaigns.

Back on January 11, Limerick were 1-32 to 0-20 winners over Cork in the final of the Co-Op Superstores Munster Hurling League and just six of that team again start - Aaron Costello; Diarmaid Byrnes, Cian Lynch, Darragh O’Donovan, David Dempsey and Aaron Gillane.

Among the 11 subs are Josh Considine, Brian O’Grady and Mark Quinlan, who are all yet to make their Allianz League debuts.

Sunday's Allianz Hurling League tie against Cork has a 2pm start in Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

LIMERICK: Nickie Quaid (Effin); Sean Finn (Bruff), Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Aaron Costello (Kilmallock); Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell), Declan Hannon (Adare), Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock); Cian Lynch (Patrickswell), William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsiagh); Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks), Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Darragh O’Donovan (Doon); Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell), Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh). Subs: Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock), Josh Considine (Patrickswell), Dan Morrissey (Ahane), Tom Morrissey (Ahane), Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock), Barry Nash (South Liberties), Darren O’Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Brian O’Grady (Kilteely-Dromkeen), Mark Quinlan (Garryspillane), David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca), Brian Ryan (South Liberties).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.