20 May 2022

SSE Airtricity League confirm 'all applicants' received a licence for 2020 season

SSE Airtricity League confirm 'all applicants' received a licence for 2020 season

The FAI have this evening confirmed that all applicants have been awarded licences for the 2020 SSE Airtricity League season. Following the work undertaken by the Independent Club Licensing Committee and the Independent Appeals Committee, the Premier Division will be made up of 10 teams, while the same goes for the First Division. There is no Limerick FC side in this season's 2020 league. 

Having taken the FAI to court over not being allowed to apply for a licence and winning the battle to do so, Limerick FC did not apply for a licence after all. As stated in the press release this evening, "all applicants have been awarded licences" meaning that Limerick FC never completed the process to bring senior soccer to Limerick in 2020.

More to follow. 

Bohemian FC, Cork City, Derry City, Dundalk, Finn Harps, Shamrock Rovers, Shelbourne, Sligo Rovers, St. Patrick’s Athletic, Waterford FC.
Athlone Town, Bray Wanderers, Cabinteely, Cobh Ramblers, Drogheda United, Galway United, Longford Town, Shamrock Rovers II, UCD AFC, Wexford FC.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.