Limerick senior hurling team named to face Cork in Munster league final

Limerick senior hurling team named to face Cork in Munster league final

The Limerick Senior Hurling team to play Cork in the Co-Op Superstores  Munster Hurling League Final on Saturday January 11 in the  LIT Gaelic Grounds at 7.30pm has been named.

There are changes from last weekend's win over Clare, with Richie English replacing Mike Casey at full back. There is a new look half back line too as Diarmaid Byrnes comes in for Paddy O'Loughlin. Former hurler of the year Cian Lynch returns to midfield, while Tom Morrissey will wear the number 11 shirt, flanked by Darragh O'Donovan and Na Piarsaigh's David Dempsey.

David Reidy, scorer of 1-12 last weekend, moves to full forward in the middle of the high scoring duo of Adrian Breen and Graeme Mulcahy. On the bench Gearoid Hegarty is joined by free taker and top scorer from last season, Aaron Gillane. 

1. Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock)    

2. Tom Condon (Knockaderry)     

3. Richie English (Doon)            

4. Aaron Costello (Kilmallock)      

5. Diarmuid Byrnes (Patrickswell)   

6. Dan Morrissey (Ahane)           

7. Barry Nash (South Liberties)      

8. Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock)       

9. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell) Captain 

10. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon)       

11. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)            

12. David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh)     

13. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)      

14. David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca)     

15. Adrian Breen (Na Piarsaigh)         


16. Nicky Quaid (Effin)                                                                           

17. Jerome Boylan (Na Piarsaigh)                                                             

 18. Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh)                                                                       

19. Sean Finn (Bruff)                                                                              

20. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell)                                                           

21. Gearoid Hegarty (St. Patrick’s)                                                                 

22. Brian O’Grady (Kilteely/Dromkeen)                                                                          

23. Mark Quinlan (Garryspillane)       

Management    :

Manager: John Kiely        

Selectors: Paul Kinnerk, and Alan Cunningham

Strength & Conditioning: Mike Kiely

Coaches: Donal O’Grady, Timmy Houlihan and  Aonghus O’Brien

Cork Team: Patrick Collins, Colm Spillane, Eoin Cadogan, Sean O’ Donoghue, Chris O’ Leary, Bill Cooper, Damian Cahalane, Ryan Walsh, Aidan Walsh, Conor Lehane, Luke Meade, Sean Twomey, Jack O’ Connor, Seamus Harnedy, Brian Turnbull.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.