Limerick schedule for 2020 Munster senior hurling championship revealed

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell


Limerick schedule for 2020 Munster senior hurling championship title defence revealed

LIMERICK look set to avoid three successive weekends of games in the 2020 Munster Senior Hurling Championship.

John Kiely's defending provincial champions will have home games against Waterford and Tipperary and travel to Cork and Clare.

Limerick will play two successive games and then have a free weekend before another two successive games.

Limerick travel to Cork in round one. The Rebels have played one of their two home games on Saturday evenings in each of the last two championships.

In round two, Limerick welcome Waterford to the LIT Gaelic Grounds.

Both Cork and Waterford have appointed new managements just this week ahead of the new season.

After the opening two rounds of action there will be a free weekend for all for Munster counties.

In round three Limerick will go to Ennis to play Clare in Cusack while and one week later Limerick will be the first side to complete the four games in the group phase when they welcome the All-Ireland champions Tipperary to LIT Gaelic Grounds.

Similar to the last two years, the top two teams will play in the Munster final, with the third placed team into the All-Ireland series.

The dates and times are likely to be confirmed by a Munster Council meeting in November.

The Irish Examiner reports the schedule of games but the dates are yet to be confirmed.

However, speculated dates are round one (May 9-10), round two (May 16-17), round three (May 29-30), round four (June 6-7) and round five (June 14).

Round 1: Cork v Limerick in Pairc Ui Chaoimh, Waterford v Tipperary in Walsh Park. Clare bye.

Round 2: Limerick v Waterford in LIT Gaelic Grounds, Tipperary v Clare in Semple Stadium. Cork bye.

Round 3: Clare v Limerick in Cusack Park, Waterford v Cork in Walsh Park. Tipperary bye.

Round 4: Cork v Clare in Pairc Ui Chaoimh, Limerick v Tipperary in LIT Gaelic Grounds. Waterford bye.

Round 5: Clare v Waterford in Cusack Park, Tipperary v Cork in Semple Stadium. Limerick bye.