Limerick trio selected on All-Ireland Minor Hurling Team of the Year

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell


Limerick trio selected on All-Ireland Minor Hurling Team of the Year

Patrick Kirby

THREE Limerick minor hurlers have been selected on the Electric Ireland Minor Star Awards Hurling Team of the Year.

Ronan Lyons (Monaleen), Patrick Kirby (Patrickswell) and Cathal O'Neill (Crecora-Manister) are all honoured.

O'Neill was also honoured last year, while Lyons will be eligible for this grade again next year.

This year’s Electric Ireland Hurling Team of the Year features six players from three time All-Ireland champions Galway, three players from All-Ireland finalists Kilkenny, three players from Limerick, two players from Clare and one player from Wexford.

The team was selected by a panel of GAA experts, including former Waterford Hurling Manager, Derek McGrath and Galway dual-star, Alan Kerins and was fed into in part by Electric Ireland’s ‘Player of the Week’ initiative on Twitter. The panel will also select an overall Hurling Player of the Year whose name will be announced at the 2019 Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards event.

2019 Electric Ireland Hurling Team of the Year

Aidan Tallis – Kilkenny (Lisdowney)
Christy Brennan – Galway (Clarinbridge)
Eoin Lawless – Galway (St. Mary's, Athenry)
Ronan Lyons – Limerick (Monaleen)
Ian McGlynn – Galway (Kilconieron)
Cian Galvin – Clare (Clarecastle)
Peter McDonald – Kilkenny (Thomastown)
Alex Connaire – Galway (Sarsfields)
Patrick Kirby – Limerick (Patrickswell)
Greg Thomas – Galway (Ballygar)
Seán McDonagh – Galway (Mountbellew-Moylough)
Cathal O'Neill – Limerick (Crecora-Manister)
Billy Drennan – Kilkenny (Galmoy)
AJ Redmond – Wexford (Rathnure)
Shane Meehan – Clare (The Banner)