Limerick confirm 37-man panel for Munster U20 hurling championship

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell


Limerick confirm 37-man panel for Munster U2- hurling championship

Limerick captain Ronan Connolly at the championship launch

LIMERICK have confirmed a 37-man panel for the 2019 Munster U20 hurling championship.

Limerick will play Cork in round one of the provincial championship on Wednesday July 3 in Pairc Uí Rinn at 7.30pm.

Victory would advance Limerick to a July 10 semi final in the LIT Gaelic Grounds with Clare.

Limerick are captained by Adare's Ronan Connolly with Doon's Mikey O'Brien as vice-captain. O'Brien is also currently a member of John Kiey's senior panel but hasn't featured in a matchday championship panel to-date.

There are 20 different clubs represented across the panel with Mungret leading the way with five players.

Limerick are managed by Paul Beary with coach-selectors Ger Downes and Paul Browne. It's a busy spell for current Limerick senior hurler Browne, with Limerick playing Tipperary in the Munster SHC final three days before the U20 encounter.

The Limerick U20 goalkeeper coach is Aaron Murphy with Mark Lyons and Leo Morrison looking after the team's strength and conditioning.

When they group were minor (2017), Limerick lost to Tipperary but then beat Waterford before losing to Clare in a semi final. Cork were impressive Munster champions two years ago.

PANEL: Louis Dee, Rory Duff, Conor Flahive, Conor Helewell, Paul O’Brien (all Mungret), Jerome Boylan and Padraic Heaney, Emmet McEvoy (all Na Piarsaigh), Calvin Carroll, Josh Considine, Jason Gillane (all Patrickswell), Liam English, Andrew Finn, David Woulfe (all Kilmallock), Mikey O’Brien, Jack Ryan, Padraic Ryan (all Doon), Eoin Sheehan, Dylan O’Shea, Ryan Tobin (all Garryspillane), Ronan Connolly and Frank Costelloe (both Adare), Adam Butler and Liam Griffin (both Kildimo-Pallaskenry), David Moloney and Conor Nicholas (both Monaleen), Ciaran Barry (Ahane), Damien Burke (Dromcollogher-Broadford), Ken Byrnes (Old Christians), Jason Fitzgibbon (Cappamore), Brian Garry (South Liberties), Daithi Heffernan (Mallow), Mark McCarthy (Templeglantine), Sean O’Connor (Granagh-Ballingarry), Michael O’Grady (Knockainey), Paul O’Riordan (Bruff), Daniel Owens (Ballybricken-Bohermore).