Limerick club stars named in Irish 7s squad for Canada

Leader Reporter


Leader Reporter


Limerick club stars named in Irish 7s squad for Canada

Ireland 7s are in Canada this weekend

Ireland Women’s 7s Coach Stan McDowell has confirmed his squad for the penultimate round of the 2018/19 HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series in Langford this weekend. There is one change to the squad that finished in 7th Place at the previous round in Kitakyushu, with Lucy Mulhall unavailable having picked up an injury at the Japan tournament. Kathy Baker comes into the squad, which will be Captained by Amee-Leigh Murphy-Crowe. 

Murphy-Crowe played in her 100th World Series game in Japan and the 24-year-old is second top-try scorer on this year’s series with 23 tries.

The side includes 19-year-olds Eve Higgins and Megan Burns. Higgins has scored 62 points in 12 games this season, while Burns made her Series debut last month in Kitakyushu. 

Murphy-Crowe, along with Louise Galvin, Aoife Doyle, Hannah Tyrrell and Deirbhile Nic A Bhaird bring experience to the squad, which features six 20-year-olds in Baker,Claire Boles, Katie Heffernan, Brittany Hogan, Emily Lane and Anna McGann.

On confirmation of the side, McDowell said;

"It’s been a quick turnaround for the team after Kitakyushu, so the last two weeks have been used to review the performances from Japan, let the bodies recover and get prepared for two big days in Canada.

We have a relatively young side for the this tournament, and this provides a great opportunity for this group to step up and demonstrate what they are capable of. 

The Canada 7s is one of the team’s favourite stops on the series and I know the players are looking forward to running out there on Saturday and Sunday."

It will be the fourth year that the Series visits the Westhills Stadium in Victoria, British Colombia, and Ireland are drawn in Pool A with Australia, Brazil and hosts Canada.

The series will conclude at the Biarritz 7s on the 15th and 16th June.

Ireland will then compete at the Rugby Europe Olympic Repechage on the 13th and 14th July in Kazan, Russia, where the winners will secure a place at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.

Ireland Women's 7s Squad for Canada 7s, Westhills Stadium, Langford – 11th – 12th May 2019
Kathy Baker (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Claire Boles (Railway Union/Ulster)
Megan Burns (Tullamore/Leinster)
Aoife Doyle (Shannon/Railway Union/Munster)
Louise Galvin (UL Bohemian/Munster)
Katie Heffernan (Mullingar/Railway Union/Leinster)
Eve Higgins (Railway Union/Leinster)
Brittany Hogan (Railway Union/Ulster)
Emily Lane (Mallow/Munster)
Anna McGann (UCD/Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Amee-Leigh Murphy-Crowe (Railway Union/Munster) Captain
Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird (Old Belvedere/Munster)
Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series – Canada 7s – Ireland Fixtures
Pool A – Day 1
Saturday 11th May 2019
Ireland v Australia – 11:06am (local time)/7:06pm (Irish time)
Ireland v Canada – 2.12pm (local time)/10.12pm (Irish time)
Ireland v Brazil – 4:34pm (local time)/12:34am - Sunday (Irish time)

Day 2
Sunday 12th May 2019

The games will be streamed live in the World Rugby Sevens Online Channels: 
•         YouTube: WorldRugby7s
•         Twitter: WorldRugby7s
•         Facebook: WorldRugby7s


USA (Denver), Infinity Park, Glendale, October 20-21 – 6th Place/10 Points
DUBAI, Sevens Stadium, Dubai, November 29-30 – 8th Place/6 Points
AUSTRALIA (Sydney), Spotless Stadium, Sydney, February 1-3 – 4th Place/14 Points 
JAPAN (Kitakyushu), Mikuni World Stadium, Kitakyushu, April 20-21 – 7th Place/10 Points
CANADA (Langford), Westhills Stadium, Vancouver Island, May 11-12
FRANCE (Biarritz),Stade Aguiléra , Biarritz, June 15-16

For more info on the HSBC Women’s Sevens Series, visit: womens-sevens-series