Search our Archive


All-Ireland heartbreak for Limerick minor camogie girls against Laois

All-Ireland heartbreak for Limerick minor camogie girls against Laois

DEFEAT for Limerick in the replay of the All-Ireland Minor B Camogie Championship Final this Saturday.

The May Bank Holiday final finished Laois 4-6 to Limerick's 2-5.

Two goals in a minute early in the second half propelled Laois to the title.

One week previous the drawn encounter was played out in the aftermath of Storm Hannah but this Saturday the sides had blistering sunshine in McDonagh Park in Nenagh.

At half time it was 1-3 apiece with Limerick aided by the slight breeze.

A penalty in the final minutes of the half ensured the game was level for the second time at the break.

Limerick were off the mark after 45-seconds through Katie Carroll but then had to wait 10-minutes for their next score.

Laois levelled in the ninth minute with an outstanding Kirsten Keenan goal - the tall full forward catching brilliantly before applying a brilliant finish to the top corner.

The Limerick response was immediate with Iris Kenneally and Sinead McElligott points to level the game at 0-3 to 1-0.

Two points from Alice Walshe then edged Laois back in front.

When Kirsten Keenan scored the first free of the day, the Leinster side looking set to carry a three point lead into half time.

But Limerick levelled with the penalty - McElligott fouled and then Enya Harrington blasted a brilliant finish past the three on the line.

So level at the break in this replay after a half were Laois had six wides and Limerick two.

Limerick had the perfect start to the second half with Orlaith Kelleher goaling after two minutes when he raced onto a cross field ball from captain Ailbhe Larkin.

But then the scores dried up and Laois found their range.

Two goals in a minute turned the tide firmly in favour of the girls in blue and white - Eireann Cole with the first and then a long Clodagh Tynan ball went all the way to the net.

So with 18-minutes to play it was Limerick 2-3, Laois 3-4.

There was no Limerick reply and Laois found a fourth goal when Shona Jones scored 11-minutes from time to lead 4-5 to 2-3.

Limerick's 21-minutes without a score came to an end with a Kenneally pointed free but it was a goal Limerick needed entering the final minutes, during which Laois goalkeeper Aedin Lowry was sent-off for a second yellow card.

Ailbhe Larkin added another free but there was no Limerick comeback as the Laois goals won out.

SCORERS: Limerick: Enya Harrington (pen) and Orlaith Kelleher 1-0 each, Iris Kenneally 0-2 (1free), Katie Carroll, Sinead McElligott and Ailbhe Larkin (free) 0-1 each. Laois: Kirsten Keenan 1-2 (0-2frees), Clodagh Tynan 1-1 (free), Eireann Cole and Shona Jones 1-0 each, Alice Walshe 0-2, Alannah Tynan 0-1.

LIMERICK: Sarah Gillane (Patrickswell); Megan Ryan (Crecora), Emily Condon (Crecora), Eva Butler (Bruff); Michelle Curtin (Templeglantine), Stephanie Woulfe (Templeglantine), Roisin Mann (Newcastle West); Ailbhe Larkin (Mungret), Noelle Curtin (Templeglantine); Iris Kenneally (Newcastle West), Enya Harrington (Na Piarsaigh), Shauna Foley (Kilmallock); Katie Carroll (Ballyagran), Sinead McElligott (Murroe-Boher), Orlaith Kelleher (Croagh-Kilfinny). Subs: Aoife Morrissey (Mungret) for Enya Harrington (42mins), Ella Whelan (Newcastle West) for Katie Carroll (50mins), Caitlin Bonfil (Monaleen) for Iris Kenneally (67mins).

LAOIS: Aedin Lowry (Camross); Fiona Scully (Camross), Sarah Fleming (Portlaoise), Katie Dunican (St Lazarians); Molly O'Connor (Harps), Clodagh Tynan (St Brigids), Jade Bergin (Harps); Jessie Quinlan (St Brigids), Amy Byrne (Portlaoise); Andrea Scully (Camross), Alice Walshe (Harps), Shona Jones (St Brigids); Lucy O'Connor (Harps), Kirsten Keenan (Camross), Eirean Cole (Naomh Eamann). Subs: Alannah Tynan (St Brigids) for Shona Jones (27mins), Shona Jones (St Brigids) for Andrea Scully (h-t), Aimee Collier (Camross) for Eireann Cole (53mins), Cathy Galbraith (St Brigids) for Shona Jones (61mins), Zoe Daly (St Brigids) for Kirsten Keenan (67mins).

REFEREE: Fintan McNamara (Clare).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.