Search our Archive


Limerick and Laois set for All-Ireland Camogie final replay

Limerick and Laois set for All-Ireland Camogie final replay

Orlaith Kelleher of Limerick and Laois' Alice Walsh

IT’S back to Nenagh this May Bank Holiday weekend for the All-Ireland Minor B Camogie Final.

Limerick needed a last gasp equaliser last weekend to secure a draw with laois.

Sinead McElligott was the late scoring hero in a game that finished Limerick 0-8 Laois 1-5.

The Laois goal came early in the drawn game but Limerick had points from Enya Harrington and Irish Kennelly to lead 0-7 to 1-1 after playing with the first half breeze.

Backed by the elements, Laois battled back in the second half to level with 10-minutes to play.

Alice Walshe then looked to have won it for the Leinster side but Sinead McElligott’s late point ensured a replay this Saturday, back in McDonagh Park in Nenagh.

Limerick are looking to win this title for a third time, adding to previous wins of 2009 and 2011.

PANEL: Roisin Mann, Aishling Corbett,  Ella Whelan, Aoife Corbett, Iris Kenneally (all Newcastle West); Megan Ryan, Emily Condon, Isabelle Lyons, Aishling Walsh (all Crecora); Michelle Curtin, Noelle Curtin, Stephanie Woulfe (all Templeglantine); Aishling Ryan, Emma English, Roisin O’Carroll (all Galbally), Aoife Morrissey, Sarah Fitzgibbon, Ailbhe Larkin (all Mungret); Eva Butler, Caroline Brennan (both Bruff), Louise Butler, Annie Giltenane (both Adare), Sara Gillane (Patrickswell), Shauna Foley (Kilmallock), Enya Harrington (Na Piarsaigh), Sinead McElligott (Murroe-Boher), Katie Carroll (Ballyagran), Caitlin Bonfil (Monaleen), Valerie Shanahan (Killeedy), Shauna D’Arcy (Ahane), Orlaith Kelleher (Croagh-Kilfinny), Jade Gillane (Ballybrown), Sarah Condon (Knockaderry).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.