Limerick quintet named on Munster Rugby Schools team of the year

Limerick quintet named on Munster Rugby Schools team of the year

Jack Madden of Crescent Comp is part of an all Limerick backrow

FIVE Limerick Schools rugby stars have been named on the Irish Independent team of the year for 2019.

Michael Hanrahan of Castletroy College is named at number nine, the only Limerick back, while Crescent's Jack Madden and Ardscoil Ris' duo of Jack Ward Murphy and Daniel Okeke make up an all Limerick backrow. The fifth Limerick player to be named is Glenstal Abbey's Donagh Hyland, who lines out at loosehead prop. 

The team, picked by Munster Rugby legend Tony Ward and the Irish Independent rugby writers were presented with specially commissioned Munster jerseys on Saturday at the Connacht game in Thomond Park.

Munster Schools Senior XV: Soren Minihane (Bandon Grammar), Killian Coughlan (CBC), Harry O'Riordan (CBC), Alan Flannery (Rockwell College), Aaron Leahy (CBC), Jack Crowley (Bandon Grammar), Michael Hanrahan (Castletroy College), Donagh Hyland (Glenstal Abbey), Darragh Murphy (PBC), Darragh McSweeney (PBC), Eoin Quilter (PBC), John Willis (CBC), Jack Madden (Crescent College), Jack Ward Murphy (Ardscoil Ris), Daniel Okeke (Ardscoil Ris)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.