Search our Archive


Limerick confirm a 33-strong panel for the Munster minor hurling championship

Limerick confirm a 33-strong panel for the Munster minor hurling championship

Limerick forward Cathal O'Neill

LIMERICK have confirmed their panel for the Munster minor hurling championship.

Limerick begin their Munster MHC on May 19 against Cork in the Gaelic Grounds.

The Munster Minor Hurling Championship games will serve as the curtain-raisers to all SHC fixtures - two hours before.

Limerick are under new management for 201 - Mungret’s Diarmuid Mullins is the new manager.

The Limerick minor (U-17) hurling team coach is Richie Flannery. Former Limerick hurlers John Meskell (Ahane) and Tommy Quaid (Effin) are selectors.

In the 2019 Munster MHC, Limerick will have home games against Cork and Clare and be away to Waterford and Tipperary. Similar to 2018, the minor games will be the curtain-raisers on Munster SHC match-days.

Michael Keane (Adare) is team captain with Cathal O'Neill (Crecora) vice-captain - both were part of last year’s panel along with Colin Coughlan, Jimmy Quilty, Cian Casey, Patrick Kirby and Diarmuid Hegarty.

So seven survivors from last year spread across the 33-strong panel, which is selected from 21 different clubs.

PANEL: Colin Coughlan, Aidan O’Connor, Luke O’Connor, Ned Quinn (all Ballybrown), Brian O’Meara, Liam Lynch, Odhran O’Dwyer (all Mungret St Pauls), Adam English and Eddie Stokes (both Doon), Adam Murrihy and Cian Casey (both Ahane), Cathal O’Neill and Rory Hannon (both Crecora-Manister), Diarmuid Hegarty and Sean Mortell (both St Patricks), Ethan Hurley and Michael Cremin (both Newcastle West), Fergal O’Connor and Patrick O’Donovan (both Effin), John Kirby and Patrick Kirby (both Patrickswell), Conor Hanley Clarke (Kilmallock), Conor Linnane (Pallasgreen), Darragh Casey (Granagh-Ballingarry),  Jack Franklin (Kilteely-Dromkeen), Jimmy Quilty (Blackrock), Michael Keane (Adare), Michael Ryan (Murroe-Boher), Patrick Reale (Knockainey), Ronan Lyons (Monaleen), Sam Williams (Bruree), Shaun Moloney (Glenroe), TJ Kelly (Killeedy).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.