Limerick referee remains on National panel for Championship 2019

Leader Reporter


Leader Reporter


Limerick referee remains on National panel for Championship 2019

Limerick's Johnny Murphy

The GAA’s Referee Development Committee has chosen its panel of referees who will officiate at this summer’s championships and Limerick's Johnny Murphy has retained his position. The All-Ireland minor final referee from last season is in line to take charge of some of the season's biggest games as he makes the 14 man selection. 

There will be 18 referees on the football championship panel – the same as last year.

In hurling, there will be a panel of 14 referees who will officiate across the Liam MacCarthy and Joe McDonagh Cup competitions. This is an increase of four referees on last year.

Referees were chosen following a series of physical fitness and playing rules examinations as well as on their Allianz League performances.

The referees are (with new additions from 2018 in bold):


Ciaran Branagan (Down)

Barry Cassidy (Derry)

Brendan Cawley (Kildare)

David Coldrick (Meath)

Niall Cullen (Fermanagh)

Maurice Deegan (Laois)

David Gough (Meath)

Jerome Henry (Mayo)

Sean Hurson (Tyrone)

Fergal Kelly (Longford)

Conor Lane (Cork)

Martin McNally (Monaghan)

Joe McQuillan (Cavan)

James Molloy (Galway)

Noel Mooney (Cavan)

Paddy Neilan (Roscommon)

Anthony Nolan (Wicklow)

Derek O'Mahoney (Tipperary)

MacCarthy & McDonagh Hurling:

Sean Cleere (Kilkenny)

Colum Cunning (Antrim)

Liam Gordon (Galway)

Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)

John Keenan (Wicklow)

Alan Kelly (Galway)

Colm Lyons (Cork)

Cathal McAllister (Cork)

Rory McGann (Clare)

Patrick Murphy (Carlow)

Johnny Murphy (Limerick)

Paud O'Dwyer (Carlow)

James Owens (Wexford)

Johnny Ryan (Tipperary)

Ring/Rackard/Meagher Hurling:

Kevin Brady (Louth)

James Clarke (Cavan)

James Connors (Donegal)

Aiden Ferguson (Fermanagh)

Thomas Gleeson (Dublin)

Justin Heffernan (Wexford)

David Hughes (Carlow)

Shane Hynes (Galway)

Gearoid McGrath (Wexford)

Chris Mooney (Dublin)

Mick Murtagh (Westmeath)

Sean Stack (Dublin)

Nathan Wall (Cork)

Thomas Walsh (Waterford)