Bruff RFC look to seal place in Division 2B next season

Davy Horan's last stand with Bruff RFC in the Ulster Bank League

Bruff's David Horan looks to slip past Richmond's Stephen Collins in an Ulster Bank League fixture

Bruff and Malahide will lock horns this Saturday afternoon at Kilballyowen (2.30pm) in the Division 2B promotion/ relegation play-off decider, with the Limerick men making it through thanks to an impressive 38-28 triumph at second-placed Midleton.

The east Cork outfit struggled during the opening 40 minutes, leaking two yellow cards and four tries as they fell 26-7 behind.
Midleton did improve in the second half, taking their own try tally to four.

However, Bruff crossed the whitewash six times in one of their best performances of the year. Winger Liam Treacy bagged a brace to add to Cian Clifford and David O’Grady’s early efforts, Kiwi back rower Taylor Jones drove over from a powerful lineout maul, and quick ball set up replacement Sean D’Arcy to score in the 69th minute.

Bruff RFC: Paddy Cleary, Johnny Cleary (capt.) Keith Laffan, Tom O'Dwyer, Neilus Keogh, Sean Hartigan, Mike Cooke, Taylor Jones, Danny Jackson, Davy O'Grady, Liam Treacy, Cian Tierney, Jack O'Grady, Cian Clifford, Shane Biggins, Rob Coates, Brendan Keogh, Tadgh O'Dwyer, Shane Biggins, Sean Darcy, Conor Fitz, Danny Keogh, Graham Whelan, Dylan O'Shea.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.