Garryowen claim All-Ireland crown as Bruff reach Division 2B playoff final

Garryowen claim All-Ireland crown as Bruff reach Division 2B playoff final

Garryowen celebrate their Bateman Cup win over City of Armagh Pic Twitter: GFC7676

It was a great day on the domestic front for Limerick rugby today as Garryowen claimed the Bateman Cup, while Bruff RFC defeated Midleton to claim a spot in the Division 2B playoff final.

Tries from Bryan Fitzgerald, Peadar Collins, Jamie Heuston, Neil Cronin and two from Liam Cronin saw Garryowen claim the Bateman Cup for the first time since 2012. 

Garryowen were representing Munster in the tie, having won the Munster Senior Cup last season. As it stands, Cork Con will represent Munster in the Bateman Cup next season, not allowing Garryowen to retain the cup.

In other news, Bruff RFC are one step closer to winning a place in Division 2B next season following a 38-28 win on the road in Midleton this afternoon. The prize for the win is a tie against Malahide, in Kilballyowen, next Saturday afternoon, April 27. 

Templeville Road:        City of Armagh            21                        Garryowen          45

Scorers:  City of Armagh:   Tries: Chris Colvin, Andrew Willis, Shea O’Brien   ;   Con: Harry Boyd, Cormac Fox (2)  ; 

  Garryowen:   Tries: Bryan Fitzgerald, Peadar Collins, Jamie Heuston, Neil Cronin, Liam Cronin (2) ;  Pen: Ben Healy   ;  Con: Ben Healy (5) , Jamie Heuston ;       


City of Armagh: 1. Paul Mullan, 2. Jonny Morton, 3. Phillip Fletcher, 4. Peter Starrett, 5. Josh McKinley, 6. Nigel Simpson, 7. Robbie Whitten, 8. Neil Faloon, 9. Harry Doyle, 10. Harry Boyd, 11. Shea O’Brien, 12. Johnny Pollock, 13., Chris Colvin (Capt.) 14. Evin Crummie, 15. Tim McNeice SUBS: 16. Andrew Smyth, 17. Oisin Kiernan,  18. James Hanna, 19. James Morton, 20. Gareth Traynor, 21. Andrew Willis, 22. Cormac Fox,

Garryowen: 1. Niall Horan, 2. Liam Cronin, 3. Andrew Keating, 4. Kevin Seymour, 5. Dean Moore, 6. Tim Ferguson, 7. Jack Daly,  8. Darren Ryan, 9. Neil Cronin, 10. Ben Healy, 11. Cian O’Shea, 12. Dave Mc Carthy, 13. Peadar Collins, 14. Bryan Fitzgerald, 15. Jamie Heuston SUBS: 16. Jack Mullany, 17. Conor Fitzgerald, 18. Alan Fitzgerald, 19. Rob Guerin, 20. Jamie Gavin, 21. Roy Whelan, 22. Andrew O’Byrne

Next Fixtures


Sat 27th April 2019                     Division 1B Promotion Play-Offs          


                                                                  UCC                v        Malone



Division 2A Promotion Final          


                  Navan              v   Queens University



                                           Division 2B Promotion Play-Off Final          


Blackrock College              v   Rainey Old Boys                                               



                                              Division 2C Promotion Final          



Bruff          v Malahide



Division 2C Promotion Play-Offs     


Seapoint     V     Clonmel  


                                                            Division 1A  Semi Finals


Sat 27th April 2019                     Clontarf               v          Lansdowne



Sun 28th April 2019              Cork Constitution              v        Dublin University



Division 1B Promotion Play-Offs          


  Old Wesley         v    Naas               


More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.