Limerick FC U15s lose out to Kerry League

Limerick FC U15s lose out to Kerry League

Limerick FC U15 player Darragh Murray puts his side on the attack in their SSE Airtricity Under-15 League game with the Kerry League at Hogan Park on Sunday

LIMERICK FC U15s suffered a 5-2 defeat to the Kerry League in their SSE Airtricity Under-15 League Group 2 game played at Hogan Park on Sunday.

Unfortunately, Limerick FC started the game slowly and were finding it difficult to battle their way into the tie. It was not long before Kerry took the lead through their left winger.

Soon after, Limerick found themselves 2-0 in arrears with another excellent strike from the visitors.

To make things even worse left back Curran picked up an unfortunate leg injury which will keep him sidelined for some time. All at Limerick FC wish Michael a speedy recovery.

To their great credit, Limerick fought back and reduced Kerry's lead to a single goal when the in-form Morrison made it two goals in two games to leave the scoreline 2-1.

Kerry managed a third goal to make it 3-1, before Limerick hit back once again as Leon Kirrane scored in spectacular fashion direct from a free kick from 20-plus yards out. The dead ball specialist left the keeper stranded with a strike that was of real precision.

In the second half, Limerick looked like a completely different side, putting their visitors under severe pressure. Ger Costelloe’s half time team talk ignited a greater desire in the group. It seemed like it was only going to be a matter of time before the Blues would draw level again.

However, it was Kerry who scored next when, against the run of play, the visitors netted from the penalty spot for 4-2.

A fifth goal for the visitors sealed their victory. Limerick will have to regroup and try bounce back against Athlone Town in the Round 5 fixture.

LIMERICK FC U15s: Josh McCarthy, Adam Hickey, Darragh Murray, Paddy Kennedy, Michael Curran, Oisin Pepper, Sean Rice, Mark Murphy, Charlie Morrison, Leon Kirrane, Cian Specht. Subs: Fionn Doherty (for Michael Curran), John English (for Oisin Pepper), Jake O’Riordan (for Charlie Morrison), Nikodem Kozlowski (for Mark Murphy), Harry Fox (for Adam Hickey), Evin O’Regan. 

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.