Opinion: Ending 82 years of Limerick hurling history - Jerome O'Connell

Opinion: Ending 82 years of Limerick hurling history - Jerome O'Connell

Celebration time in Croke Park after the Allianz Hurling League final win

IT’S just over two years and six months since John Kiely was rubber-stamped as the Limerick hurling manager.

No one could have foreseen that between September 13, 2016 and March 31 2019, Limerick would re-write the history books – this week holding both the All-Ireland SHC and Hurling League titles, the first time since 1937!

When records fall, I love to delve into the history books! So here goes….

Under John Kiely, Limerick have played 42 games – Championship, National League and Munster League – winning 29, drawing two and 11 defeats. Seven of those defeats came in 2017.

In the eight game league campaign just finished; Limerick used 33 players.

But in total, 52 players have seen game time under Kiely’s senior tenure – from 22 different clubs.

Incidentally, just 18 of these 52 players were not involved under previous manager TJ Ryan.

PLAYERS: Shane Dowling, David Dempsey, Mike Casey, Peter Casey, William O’Donoghue, Kevin Downes, Conor Boylan, Alan Dempsey, Ronan Lynch (all Na Piarsaigh); Barry Hennessy, Graeme Mulcahy, Paddy O’Loughlin, Oisin O’Reilly, Robbie Hanley, Aaron Costello and Gavin O’Mahony (all Kilmallock); Richie English, Pat Ryan, Darragh O’Donovan, Barry Murphy and Mikey O’Brien (all Doon); Diarmaid Byrnes, Cian Lynch, Aaron Gillane, Seanie O’Brien, Kevin O’Brien (all Patrickswell); John Fitzgibbon, Declan Hannon and Ronan Connolly (all Adare); Lorcan Lyons and Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (both Monaleen), Dan Morrissey and Tom Morrissey (both Ahane); Paul Browne and Sean Finn (both Bruff); Kyle Hayes and Barry O’Connell (both Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Daragh Fanning and Colin Ryan (both Pallasgreen); Seamus Hickey and Seanie Tobin (both Murroe-Boher), Tom Condon (Knockaderry), Richie McCarthy (Blackrock), Nickie Quaid (Effin), Barry Nash (South Liberties), Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks), David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca), Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), William O’Meara (Askeaton), Stephen Cahill (Tournafulla), James Ryan (Garryspillane) and David McCarthy (Glenroe).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.