Search our Archive


Captain Declan Hannon returns to Limerick hurling team for league final with Waterford

Captain Declan Hannon returns to Limerick hurling team for league final with Waterford

Declan Hannon on a lap of honour in Croke Park last August

ALL-IRELAND winning captain Declan Hannon returns to the Limerick team for Sunday's Allianz Hurling League final with Waterford in Croke Park.

The return of the centre back is the only change from the semi final win over Dublin.

Hannon replaces Paddy O'Loughlin, who drops to the bench for the Croke Park final, which has a 2pm start and will be live on TG4.

Shane Dowling was named among the subs for the semi final but was a late withdrawal and replaced by Conor Boylan. Dowling is back for Sunday's final, replacing Boylan.

Elsewhere, the team and substitutes remain as they were for the three point semi final win over Dublin last Sunday.

Tom Condon is in line to be the only player to start all eight league games.

Mike Casey returned from a long injury lay-off last weekend to become the 33rd Limerick player to see league action. The defender is again among the subs, as is semi final goal-scorer Seamus Flanagan.

Sunday will be the first ever league final meeting of Limerick and Waterford. Limerick are bidding to bridge a 22 year gap to the last of 11 league title in 1997.

LIMERICK: Nickie Quaid (Effin); Tom Condon (Knockaderry), Sean Finn (Bruff), Richie English (Doon); Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell), Declan Hannon (Adare), Dan Morrissey (Ahane); Cian Lynch (Patrickswell), Darragh O’Donovan (Doon); Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks), Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Tom Morrissey (Ahane); Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell), Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock). Subs: Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock), Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh), David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh), Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock), Barry Murphy (Doon), Barry Nash (South Liberties), Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock), William O’Meara (Askeaton), Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.