Strong Limerick team selected for Allianz Hurling League semi final with Dublin

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell



Hurler of the Year Cian Lynch

JOHN Kiely has revealed the Limerick team that will bid to end a 13 year wait to reach an Allianz Hurling League final.

Limerick contest a fourth successive league semi final on Sunday (1.30pm) when they play Dublin in Nowlan Park in Kilkenny - the men in green will be bidding to end a run of three successive defeats at this stage of the competition, which Limerick haven't won since 1997.

There are five in the Limerick team that will be starting a fourth successive league semi final – Nickie Quaid, Richie English, Diarmaid Byrnes, Gearoid Hegarty and Cian Lynch.

Sunday's league semi final will be exactly a year to the day of the 2018 All-Ireland club SHC final replay between Dublin champions Cuala and Na Piarsaigh.

Five from Na Piarsaigh are among the 32 players used in their six league game to-date but just Peter Casey starts on Sunday against a Dublin side that will feature a number of Cuala players and are managed by former Cuala manager Mattie Kenny.

There is no place in the team for captain Declan Hannon and regular full forward Seamus Flanagan - both are among the substitutes, where there is also a place for Mike Casey after his lengthy injury lay-off.

Tom Morrissey will captain the team in the absence of Declan Hannon.

Tom Condon is selected to start his seventh successive league game - the only player to do so. Back in 2005, Condon was also in the team when Limerick and Dublin last met in Nowlan Park - that was in an All-Ireland minor semi final.

LIMERICK: Nickie Quaid (Effin); Tom Condon (Knockaderry), Sean Finn (Bruff), Richie English (Doon); Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell), Dan Morrissey (Ahane), Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock); Cian Lynch (Patrickswell), Darragh O’Donovan (Doon); Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks), Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Tom Morrissey (Ahane); Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell), Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock). Subs: Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock), Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh), David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh), Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh), Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock), Declan Hannon (Adare), Barry Murphy (Doon), Barry Nash (South Liberties), William O’Meara (Askeaton), Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen).