Search our Archive


Management teams confirmed for eight clubs in Limerick Premier IHC

Management teams confirmed for eight clubs in Limerick Premier IHC

Jimmy Quilty, Peter Finn and John Mulqueen

THERE are plenty changes to the management teams across the eight clubs in the Limerick Premier Intermediate Hurling Championship for 2019.

The most high profile appointment is the return of former Limerick senior hurling selector Jimmy Quilty to his native Blackrock.

Quilty was part of John Kiely's 2018 All-Ireland winning management but departed ahead of 2019.

The Rockies are fare from the only club with new personnel.

Cappamore drop down to the second tier after their senior relegation. Clubman PJ Ryan took their junior B team to the All-Ireland final after winning divisional, county and Munster honours and he moves up to their PIHC team as manager. Ger Hickey joins him as coach.

Also new to the grade are Dromin-Athlacca - 2018 Limerick IHC winners.

They continue with clubman Mark Moynihan as manager.

Bruff were beat by the TJ Ryan managed Garrysillane in the county final of this championship last October. Bruff continue with largely the same management - managed by clubman Dan Moloney (manager) and coached by John Hadnett from Dundrum. A selector is 2017 Limerick minor hurling manager John Mulqueen.

Mungret lost out at the semi final stage last year. 2018 manager Diarmuid Mullins is now the Limerick minor hurling manager. Mungret have clubman Gerry O'Brien now as manager with Denis Barry as coach and the experienced Liam O'Donoghue as selector.

Kildimo-Pallaskenry lost the other semi final last year. They continue with clubman Chris Sexton as manager but have changed the remainder of their backroom team. Another former Limerick minor hurling manager Peter Finn joins as coach alongside fellow Bruree native Sexton.

Pallasgreen have also opted for change - clubman James O'Donnell now their trainer/coach.

Bruree are one of the clubs with little change - Newtownshandrum's Gerdy O'Mahony continues as manager.



Jimmy Quilty (manager), Aidan Fitzgerald and Adrian Gilligan (selectors).


Dan Moloney (manager), John Hadnett (coach), John A Moran, Paddy Mulcahy and John Mulqueen (selectors).


Gerdy O'Mahony (manager), John Carey and Hugh Hogan (selectors).


PJ Ryan (manager), Ger Hickey (coach), Gary Hogan (selector).


Mark Moynihan (manager), Ger Kelleher and Gary Costelloe (selectors).


Chris Sexton (manager), Peter Finn (coach), Eanna McGarrigle (selector).


Gerry O'Brien (manager), Denis Barry and Paul Harmon (coaches), Liam O’Donoghue and John Van Veen (selectors).


James O'Donnell (trainer/coach), Brian McCarthy (Snr), Pat Rodahan, Timmy Murphy, John Linnane (selectors).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.