Search our Archive


Limerick side Regeneron beaten in Munster inter-firm hurling final by Clare's Zimmer

Limerick side Regeneron beaten in Munster inter-firm hurling final by Clare's Zimmer

Regeneron goalkeeper Brian Murray

LIMERICK’S Regeneron suffered defeat in the Munster Inter-Firm junior hurling final.

The Raheen based side were beaten 1-11 to 0-11 by Zimmer of Clare in the provincial final, which was played in Sixmilebridge.

The Clare factory claimed Munster honours after defeat in four previous finals.

Regeneron lined out with hurlers from Limerick, Clare, Tipperary and Galway in their ranks.

Former Limerick inter-county goalkeeper Brian Murray was between the posts for Regeneron, who had 2010 Limerick defender Cian Hayes at full back.

Brian Moloney and John Fox were other locals in the line-up.

Regeneron were able to call up two current county players - Limerick’s Adrian Breen, who scored a point when introduced as a sub, and Clare’s Seadna Morey.

The winners, Zimmer, had former Limerick dual player Mark O’Riordan in their ranks.

Zimmer built a 1-6 to 0-4 half time lead with Aidan Lynch getting an early goal for the Clare side.

Regeneron had the breeze in the second half but the goal was to be the decisive score.

The lead was out to six points inside the final 10-minutes when Caimin Morey helped kick-start a fightback.

Adrian Breen pointed to reduce the lead to two points in the final minute.

The Na Piarsaigh man went close to a dramatic goal a minute later and caused panic in the rearguard in injury time when he was fouled enroute to goal.

Brian Murray made the journey from his goal but his shot for goal was saved by Derek Fahy.

Regeneron won the Limerick Inter-Firm junior hurling title last November with a county final win over H&MV Engineering.

SCORERS: Zimmer: Dermot Gannon 0-4, Aidan Lynch 1-1, Gerry Coote 0-2, Daithi O’Connell, Jamie Fitzgibbon, Michael O’Shea, Caimin Howard 0-1 each. Regeneron: Paudie Green 0-4, Caimin Morey 0-3, Peter O’Sullivan, Seadna Morey, Gearoid Loughnane and Adrian Breen 0-1 each.

ZIMMER: Derek Fahy (Sixmilebridge); Alan McNamara (Killanena), Martin Minehan (Kildangan), Kieran Liddane (Sixmilebridge); Matt Horan (Scariff), Ben O'Gorman (Wolfe Tones), Mark O'Riordan (Croom); Thomas McNamara (Scariff), Daithi O'Connell (Wolfe Tones); Gerry Coote (Inagh-Kilnamona), Aidan Lynch (Ruan), Jamie Fitzgibbon (Crusheen); Michael O'Shea (Smith O'Briens), Padraig Chaplin (Cratloe), Dermot Gannon (Inagh-Kilnamona). Subs: Caimin Howard (Ruan), Nathan Fox (Parteen), Donal O'Grady (Feakle), Seamus Quigley (Bodyke), Ken Collins (Feakle)

REGENERON: Brian Murray (Patrickswell); Emmet Gleeson (Tulla), Cian Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Sean Kelly (Kildorrery); Jack O'Flaherty (Burgess), Caimin Morey (Sixmilebridge), Brian Moloney (Blackrock); John Guilfoyle (Wolfe Tones), Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge); Paudie Green (Upperchurch-Drombane), Peter O'Sullivan (Newport), Gearoid Loughnane (Loughrea); John Fox (Ahane), Brian Hogan (Burgess), Christy Griffin (Sixmilebridge). Subs: Adrian Breen (Na Piarsaigh), David O'Connor (Sixmilebridge), Garret McPhillips (Wolfe Tones), Gary Hogg (Clonlara), Ian Donnellan (O'Callaghans Mills).

REFEREE: Mike Meade (Limerick).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.