Limerick scrum-half bags brace of tries as Ireland U20s ease past Italy in Six Nations

Limerick scrum-half bags brace of tries as Ireland U20s ease past Italy in Six Nations

Ireland U20 scrum-half Craig Casey gets his pass away against Italy U20s in their Six Nations clash at Stadio Centro d'Italia in Rieti on Friday night

SHANNON RFC scrum-half Craig Casey touched down twice as the unbeaten Ireland U-20s eased past Italy 34-14 in Rieti on Friday night to stay four points clear at the top of the U-20 Six Nations table.

Ireland's successful starting line-up also included Shannon's Jake Flannery, who lined out at full-back, along with Young Munster prop Josh Wycherley.

Despite a late concession from a maul, captain David Hawkshaw's 76th-minute bonus point try put the seal on a very professional performance from Noel McNamara's charges who were able to dish out debuts to four replacements including Young Munster's Billy Scannell and Garryowen's Ben Healy, who booted a late conversion.

Tries from returning scrum half Casey, who sniped over in the 10th minute, and the Leinster-capped Scott Penny, close to half-time, gave the visitors a 17-0 advantage with classy out-half Harry Byrne kicking 12 points on the night.

Former Ardscoil Ri star Casey and Hawkshaw's second half scores were matched by Italian replacements Matteo Nocera and Marco Butturini.

IRELAND U-20: Jake Flannery (Shannon/Munster); Angus Kernohan (Queen's University/Ulster), Liam Turner (Dublin University/Leinster), David Hawkshaw (Clontarf/Leinster) (capt), Jonathan Wren (Cork Constitution/Munster); Harry Byrne (Lansdowne/Leinster), Craig Casey (Shannon/Munster); Josh Wycherley (Young Munster/Munster), Dylan Tierney-Martin (Corinthians/Connacht), Thomas Clarkson (Dublin University/Leinster), Charlie Ryan (UCD/Leinster), Niall Murray (Buccaneers/Connacht), Martin Moloney (Old Belvedere/Leinster), Scott Penny (UCD/Leinster), John Hodnett (UCC/Munster). Replacements used: Ronan Watters (St. Mary's College/Leinster) for Moloney (33-36 mins, blood sub), Brian Deeny (Clontarf/Leinster) for Murray (65), Callum Reid (Banbridge/Ulster) for Wycherley, Billy Scannell (Young Munster/Munster) for Tierney-Martin, Rob Russell (Dublin University/Leinster) for Flannery (all 66), Michael Milne (UCD/Leinster) for Clarkson (69), Ben Healy (Garryowen/Munster) for Byrne, Watters for Moloney, Cormac Foley (St. Mary's College/Leinster) for Casey (all 74).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.