Search our Archive


All 12 club football managements confirmed for 2019 Limerick SFC

All 12 club football managements confirmed for 2019 Limerick SFC

Jerome Stack, Maurice Horan and Joe Hayes

CHAMPIONS Adare are one of five clubs where status quo exists with their club senior football management teams for 2019.

There are once again 12 teams in the Limerick SFC and some of the leading contenders have opted for change in their bid to lift the Fr Casey Cup next October.

Champions Adare, beaten finalists Ballylanders, 2016 winners Monaleen and St Kierans have all kept faith with their backroom teams from last season.

Winners in 2017 and 2018, Adare again have Harry Gleeson as manager for a fourth year. He will be assisted by coaches Maurice Horan and Niall Crowley with Joe Redington, Dave Lavin and Pat O’Connor involved.

2015 champions Newcastle West have Mike Quilligan back at the helm. And, he has brought in an experienced coach in Jerome Stack - previously involved with Adare and Drom-Broadford, the Kerry native is a former Limerick, Tipperary and Laois senior football coach.

It’s 2013 since Drom-Broadford last won the title. They have former winning manager Mike Fahy back in charge and he has former county man Seanie Buckley involved in his backroom team.

St Senans are another side with change. John Hanlon has stepped up from selector to be manager with Adare’s Peter Lavin the new team coach.

Fr Caseys have looked across the border into Kerry and have Denis Lynch as manager and he has Keith Browne alongside him.

For Oola, Galbally, and Na Piarsaigh, their managements remain unchanged apart from new coaches.

Oola have Limerick All-Ireland ladies football winning coach Jim Moran involved, Galbally have Oola man Derek Ryan and Na Piarsaigh have UL ladies football supremo DJ Collins.

Along with back-to-back winners Adare, Monaleen, Ballylanders and St Kierans are unchanged.

Monaleen have Andrew Lacey as manager with former Clare senior football goalkeeper as coach.

Ballylanders are a fully homegrown backroom team while St Kierans have former Limerick senior football captain and Drom-Broadford Limerick SFC winner Micheal Reidy as coach.

The Limerick SFC commences on the weekend of March 28-31.


Harry Gleeson (manager), Maurice Horan and Niall Crowley (coaches), Joe Redington, Dave Lavin, Pat O’Connor (selectors).


Mick Fox (manager), Eamonn Dineen, Paul Lonergan, Eddie English (selectors).


John Neville, Cathal Anglim, Danny Fitzgerald (selectors), Anthony Ryan (coach-selector), John Blackwell (strength and conditioning coach).


Mike Fahy (manager), Seanie Buckley (coach), Liam McGraynor, Diarmuid O'Carroll (selectors).


Ger Fahy (manager), Derek Ryan (trainer), Wally Power, Martin Dineen, Tom Donegan, John Scully (selectors).


Denis Lynch (manager), Keith Browne (selector).


Andrew Lacey (manager), Joe Hayes (coach), Ronan O’Connor, Alan Kavanagh, Ger Carew (selectors).


Cathal Minihane (manager), DJ Collins (coach), Cian Coady (selector).


Mike Quilligan (manager), Jerome Stack (coach).


Kem Downey (manager), Jim Moran (coach), James Hallissey, Daniel Quirke (selectors).


Michael Barrett, Noel Broderick, Michael Greaney, Paul Woulfe (selectors), Micheal Reidy (trainer).


John Hanlon (manager), Peter Lavin (coach), Pat O’Shaughnessy, Mark Griffin (selectors).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.