Shane Dowling among five changes to Limerick hurling team for Kilkenny league tie

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell


Shane Dowling among five changes to Limerick hurling team for Kilkenny league tie

Returning Shane Dowling

THERE are five changes to the Limerick team to play Kilkenny in Sunday's Allianz Hurling League tie.

Into the team come both Hurler of the Year Cian Lynch and Young Hurler of the Year Kyle Hayes.

There is also a first league start since 2017 for Shane Dowling - his first game of 2019.

Paddy O'Loughlin and Barry Murphy also get starting roles - both made substitute appearances already during the Division 1A campaign.

Dropping to the substitutes bench from the win over Tipperary are Declan Hannon, Tom Morrissey, Gearoid Hegarty and Kevin Downes.

Nickie Quaid and the full back line remain in situ for a third successive game as Limerick go to Nowlan Park for a league tie for the first time since 2009 - Tom Condon is the only surviving starter from that line-up.

In the absence of captain Hannon, Dan Morrissey fills the no6 jersey with Paddy O'Loughlin at wing back - as was the case for the final 20-minutes in the win over Tipperary two weeks ago. O'Loughlin has a busy schedule at present - he was in the UCC team on Tuesday that beat DCU to qualify for a Saturday February 23 Fitzgibbon Cup final.

In midfield, Cian Lynch and Darragh O'Donovan are reunited for the first time since the All-Ireland final.

There are 10 of the All-Ireland final day team selected - three of the fresh faces are in attack, Dowling, Murphy and Conor Boylan, who impressed on his league debut two weeks ago.

Aaron Gillane is selected at corner forward - he notched 1-12 on Thursday as Mary Immaculate advanced to the Fitzgibbon Cup final with UCC.

Limerick haven't beaten Kilkenny in their home patch since 1997 but a first win in 22-years on Sunday would all but seal a quarter final spot for John Kiely's men with games still to play against Cork and Clare.

Sunday's Limerick-Kilkenny game will be live on TG4 at 2pm.

Brian Cody also named his Kilkenny team this Friday evening. Limerick have 10 of the team from the All-Ireland quarter final in Thurles last Summer and Kilkenny have nine of their team - TJ Reid, Cillian Buckley, Joey Holden, Richie Hogan and Colin Fennelly among those missing for The Cats and none of this five are selected among their subs.

LIMERICK: Nickie Quaid (Effin); Tom Condon (Knockaderry), Sean Finn (Bruff), Richie English (Doon); Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell), Dan Morrissey (Ahane), Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock); Cian Lynch (Patrickswell), Darragh O’Donovan (Doon); Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh), Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh); Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell), Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock), Barry Murphy (Doon). Subs: Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock), Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Aaron Costello (Kilmallock), Kevin Downes (Na Piarsaigh), Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock), Declan Hannon (Adare), Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks), Tom Morrissey (Ahane), Michael O’Brien (Doon), William O’Meara (Askeaton), Pat Ryan (Doon).

KILKENNY: Eoin Murphy; Tommy Walsh, Conor Delaney, Enda Morrissey; Padraig Walsh, Paddy Deegan, Paul Murphy; Conor Fogarty, Martin Keoghan; Richie Leahy, Walter Walsh, James Maher; Billy Ryan, Kevin Kelly, John Donnelly.