Former Limerick hurling captain appointed new county minor football coach

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell


Former Limerick hurling captain appointed new county minor football coach

James Ryan

FORMER Limerick senior hurling captain James Ryan is the new coach to the 2019 Limerick minor footballers.

His appointment was confirmed at this Tuesday's February County Board meeting in the Woodlands House Hotel.

The Garryspillane hurler captained Limerick in 2017 in John Kiely's first year in charge but retired at the end of that season.

Ryan made his Limerick senior hurling debut in 2009 and played for seven seasons.

He also played football for Limerick - from 2007-2010.

A footballer with Galbally, James Ryan has the distinction of playing in Munster senior finals in both hurling and football – of course winning the 2013 Munster SHC title.

Ryan is to be a coach-selector in the new Limerick minor football management.

The team manager is Newcastle West's Joe Lee.

A brother of current Limerick senior football manager, Billy, Joe was a Limerick senior football selector when Maurice Horan was manager.

Also part of the management will be Ollie Coffey as coach-selector. Like James Ryan, Ollie Coffey is a full-time Limerick GAA coach.

Michael Lenihan of Mountcollins is also a team selector - he was involved with the Limerick U-20s last season.

There is a new format to the 2019 Munster minor football championship with Limerick guaranteed three games.

Limerick welcome Clare to the Gaelic Grounds in round one on Wednesday April 10, are in Dungarvan to play Waterford on April 17 and then finish against Tipperary in Thurles on April 24.