Four Limerick club stars make Ireland 20s side for Six Nations opener

Four Limerick club stars make Ireland 20s side for Six Nations opener

Four Limerick club stars will take on England in Cork

Ireland U20 Head Coach Noel McNamara has named his side to take on England in the opening game of the U20 Six Nations, this Friday night at 7.15pm in Irish Independent Park.

In the front-row, Young Munster prop Josh Wycherley joins Thomas Clarkson and hooker Dylan Tierney-Martin, who wins his second U20 cap having made his debut at last season’s U20 World Championships.

Charlie Ryan, who returns for his second U20 Six Nations campaign, starts in the second row alongside Niall Murray.

Martin Moloney, Scott Penny and Number 8 John Hodnett are named in the back row.

Shannon scrum-half Craig Casey will partner out-half Harry Byrne, brother of Leinster's Ross, who is set to win his 11th U20 cap.

Captain David Hawkshaw partners Liam Turner the centre.

Another Shannon RFC star, Jake Flannery starts at full-back, with young Munster's Conor Phillips and Jonathan Wren lining out on the wings.

Ahead of the Ireland U20s debut test in Cork, McNamara said;

"The players have prepared very well since we first came together before Christmas. We had a good camp last week in Cork and are looking forward to the challenge that England will bring this Friday night.

We have a very talented group of players in the squad, and there were a number of tight calls on selection for this game. There is a lot of rugby to be played over the coming weeks and months, so the competitiveness in the squad is a real positive and bodes well for the season ahead.

Everyone involved is excited to be heading to Irish Independent Park for this opening fixture. It’s a great venue, with a nice fast pitch and we’re looking forward to getting the campaign underway in front of an energetic and lively crowd in Cork."

Tickets are available for the Ireland U20 home games via

The match will be broadcast live by RTE, directly after the Ireland Women’s game against England (5pm kick-off).

Ireland U20 v England U20, U20 Six Championship, Irish Independent Park, Cork.  Kick-Off: 7.15pm
15. Jake Flannery (Shannon RFC / Munster)
14. Conor Phillips (Young Munster RFC / Munster)
13. Liam Turner (Dublin University FC / Leinster)
12. David Hawkshaw (Clontarf FC / Leinster) Captain 
11. Jonathan Wren (Cork Constitution FC / Munster)
10. Harry Byrne (Lansdowne FC / Leinster)*
9. Craig Casey (Shannon RFC / Munster)

1. Josh Wycherley (Young Munster RFC / Munster)
2. Dylan Tierney-Martin (Corinthians RFC / Connacht)*
3. Thomas Clarkson (Dublin University FC / Leinster)
4. Charlie Ryan (UCD RFC / Leinster)*
5. Niall Murray (Buccaneers RFC / Connacht)
6. Martin Moloney (Old Belvedere RFC / Leinster)
7. Scott Penny (UCD RFC / Leinster)
8. John Hodnett (UCC RFC / Munster)

16. John McKee (Old Belvedere RFC / Leinster)
17. Michael Milne (UCD RFC / Leinster)
18. Ryan Lomas (Galwegians RFC / Connacht)
19. Brian Deeny (Clontarf FC / Leinster)
20. David McCann (Banbridge RFC / Ulster)
21. Cormac Foley (St.Mary’s College RFC / Munster)
22. Sean French (Cork Constitution FC / Munster)
23. Rob Russell (Dublin University FC / Munster)

IRELAND U20 Six Nations Fixtures 2019
IRELAND U20 Six Nations Fixtures 2019
Friday 1st February 2019
Ireland U20 v England U20, 7.15pm, Irish Independent Park, Cork
Live on RTE

Friday 8th February 2019
Scotland U20 v Ireland U20, 7.30pm. Netherdale, Galashiels

Friday 22nd February 2019
Italy U20 v Ireland U20, Stadio Centro d’Italia, Rieti
Stream via FIR - &

Friday 8th March 2019
Ireland U20 v France U20, 7.15pm, Irish Independent Park, Cork
Live on RTE

Friday 15th March 2019
Wales U20 v Ireland U20, 7.15pm, Stadwim Zip World (Parc Eirias), Colwyn Bay
Live on RTE

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.