Munster stars named on Ireland 7s squad for Australia

Leader Reporter


Leader Reporter


Munster stars named on Ireland 7s squad for Australia

The Ireland 7s squad will play in Australia in February

A 13-player Ireland Women’s 7s squad has been confirmed to travel to Australia ahead of the third leg of the World Rugby Women’s Sevens World Series in Sydney.

The squad, captained by Lucy Mulhall could see World Series debuts for Emily Laneand the uncapped Béibhinn Parsons.

Lane travelled to Colorado with the squad for the opening round of the World Series back in October and Parsons, having made her Ireland 15s debut during November links up with the 7s side to continue her development across both forms of the game.

The squad will train at the Sydney Academy of Sport and Recreation in Narrabeen before they relocate to central Sydney ahead of the tournament kicking off at the Spotless Stadium in the Sydney Olympic Park.

Ireland finished in 8th place at the Dubai 7s in December, are drawn with Canada, Fiji and Russia in Pool B of the tournament, and will open Day 1 against Russia.

On confirmation of the squad, Director of Sevens Rugby, Anthony Eddy said;

"Sydney marks the half-way point on this year’s World Series and it’s another chance for the players to go out and put in strong performances.

We have a few players unavailable to us due to injury, but that in turn hands a great opportunity to other players in the programme to make their mark."

The Sydney 7s sees both the Women’s and Men’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series takes place over three days at the Spotless Stadium, with the pool stages taking place, Friday 1st February, the quarter-finals and Trophy games taking place on Saturday and finals day taking place on Sunday 3rd February.

For more information on the Sydney 7s, or to buy tickets, visit:

Information on the World Rugby Sevens Series, including where to watch, is available here:

Ireland Women’s 7s Squad – Sydney 7s 2019

Aoife Doyle (Railway Union RFC & Shannon RFC/Munster)
Louise Galvin (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
Katie Heffernan (Railway Union RFC & Mullingar RFC/Leinster)
Eve Higgins (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)
Brittany Hogan (Railway Union RFC/Ulster)
Amee-Leigh Murphy-Crowe (Railway Union RFC/Munster) 
Anna McGann (Old Belvedere & UCD RFC/Leinster)
Emily Lane (Mallow RFC/Munster)
Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum RFC) Captain
Deirbhile Nic A Bhaird (Old Belvedere RFC/Munster)
Audrey O’Flynn (Ireland 7s Programme)
Béibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe RFC / Connacht) *
Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere RFC / Leinster)

*Denotes uncapped at this level
Ireland Women’s 7s – Sydney 7s Fixtures – Pool B, Spotless Stadium, 1st-3rd February 2019
Friday 1st February 2019
Russia v Ireland, 12pm (local time)/1am (Irish time)
Canada v Ireland, 3.06pm (local time)/4.06am (Irish time)
Ireland v Fiji 5.28pm/6.28am (Irish time)

Saturday 2nd February 2019

Sunday 3rd February 2019