Search our Archive


National Ladies Football award for Limerick coach

National Ladies Football award for Limerick coach

Niamh Fox pictured with Limerick hurlers Tom Morrissey, David Reidy, Dan Morrissey, Richie English and Oisin O'Reilly

LIMERICK'S Niamh Fox is to be honoured by the Ladies Gaelic Football Association.

Fox has been announced as the Youth Coach of the Year for her work with Dromin Athlacca Banogue.

Administrators, coaches and media are among those honoured across eight categories.

LGFA President Marie Hickey commented: “It is vitally important to recognise our volunteers, who undertake sterling work in their local communities on behalf of our Association.

“As was the case last year, we received a large volume of nominations and whittling them down to settle on winners was an onerous task. I would like to thank everybody who submitted nominations and we congratulate the winners.

Hickey added: “The awards event on Friday, February 22, should be a night to savour and one we are already looking forward to. This night will serve as a fitting tribute to the work carried out by our volunteers at home and abroad". 

The LGFA scheme, in its second year, recognises winners from 2018, and they are as follows:

·         School Coach of Year – John Kennedy (Glenamaddy, Galway)

·         Youth Coach of the Year – Niamh Fox (Dromin-Athlacca Banogue, Limerick)

·         Journalist of The Year – Darren Kelly (Galway Bay FM)

·         PRO of the Year – Donal Fitzpatrick (Kildare)

·         Committee Officer of The Year – Nora Fealy (Kerry)

·         Coach of The Year – Jess Brennan (Blessington, Wicklow)

·         Overall Volunteer of The Year – Edel Conway (Doonbeg, Clare)

·         Volunteer Hall of Fame – Philip O’Hare (Down & Ulster)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.