Search our Archive


Replay defeat for Hospital as Thurles prosper in Harty Cup quarter final


DEFEAT for Limerick's John the Baptist Community School of Hospital in the Harty Cup quarter final replay this Saturday afternoon.

In Dundrum it finished, Hospital 0-11, Thurles CBS 0-16 - the Tipperary side progress to play CBC of Cork in the semi final of the Munster Post Primary Schools Senior A Hurling Championship.

Hospital just didn't find the spark of the drawn encounter in this replay and while the sides were level at 0-10 eaching entering the final quarter, Thurles always looked the more likely winners.

Hospital scored just once in the final 19-minutes of action, while Thurles sealed their last four spot with six points across the same period.

In front of a big crowd, Thurles were 0-7 to 0-4 ahead at half time.

The sides were level at 0-3 each, but Hospital were left to rue six first half wides, compared to just two for Thurles.

All four Hospital scores in that first half came from Dylan O'Shea frees.

Patrick Reale, Brian O'Grady and Micheal Martin had JTBCS Hospital points from play early in the second half and the game was level for just the second time at 0-9 each - 11-minutes into the second half.

Free-takers O'Shea and Ryan exchanged points and the game was level for the final time with 44-minutes played - 0-10 each.

Thurles hit the next free points and while O'Shea scored to leave it 0-13 to 0-11 with nine minutes to play, another three points from Thurles saw off the challenge of the Limerick men.

SCORERS: Hospital: Dylan O'Shea 0-8 (all frees), Patrick Reale, Brian O'Grady and Micheal Martin 0-1 each. Thurles CBS: Devon Ryan 0-8 (6frees, 1 '65), Paaddy Creedon, Max Hackett and Luke Cashin 0-2 each, Kieran Moloney and Eoin Purcell 0-1 each.

JOHN THE BAPTIST, HOSPITAL: Darragh Macauley (Emly), Killian Reale (Hospital-Herbertstown), Mark Quinlan (Garryspillane), Patrick Byrne (Ballybricken-Bohermore), Eoin O'Mahony (Garryspillane), Kevin Bonar (Bruff), Brian Heavey (Garryspillane); Alan Buckley (Knockainey), Ryan Tobin (Garryspillane); Patrick Reale (Knockainey), Micheal Martin (Ballybricken-Bohermore), Dylan O'Shea (Garryspillane); Brian O'Grady (Kilteely-Dromkeen), Aidan O'Heney (Emly-Treacys), Oisin O'Grady (Hospital-Herbertstown). Subs: Peter Morrissey (Garrspillane) for Aidan O'Heney (46mins), Conor Burke (Emly) for Micheal Martin (53mins), Kyran O'Donnell (Pallasgreen) for Ryan Tobin (58mins).

THURLES CBS: Kevin Bracken, Peter Melbourne, John Kirwan, Jack Hickey, Frank Hanafin, Kevin Hayes, Jack Ryan, Max Hackett, Kieran Moloney, Keith Ryan, Devon Ryan, Eoin Purcell, Paddy Creedon, Darren Flood, Jack Lanigan. Subs: Luke Cashin for Jack Lanigan, inj (11mins), Jack Leamy for Kieran Moloney (44mins), Eoin Morris for Frank Hanafin, inj (47mins), Jack Morrissey for Darren Flood (56mins), Jack Taylor for Paddy Creedon (56mins), James Synnot for John Kirwan, inj (62mins).

REFEREE: Damien Fox (Clare).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.