Limerick athletes run into New Year

Karen Raine


Karen Raine


Limerick athletes run into New Year

Mooreabbey Milers Tom Blackburn, Willie O'Donoghue, Mary Pyke, Marie O'Shea, Damien Holian and Patrick Holian are pictured after completing the Clonmel 4 mile race

The Country Club AC 5 Mile race was the first event of 2019 held on New Year’s Day.

John Kinsella (Bilboa) started the year in the best possible fashion winning this long running event in a time of 27:04. He was followed in 2nd by Thomas Shanahan of Limerick AC in 28:02. Bilboa’s Sean Quirke was 3rd in 28:28.

Anne MacPhail (Dooneen) showed that she is returning to form, romping to victory in the women’s event in 31:59. Yvonne Deegan (Country Club) took 2nd place in 35:03. Tanya Cox (Dooneen) was 3rd in 37:05.

The charity benefiting this year was Autism Ireland and there were 104 finishers. Well done to all involved in a well organised event with great hospitality afterwards.

Mooreabbey Milers Mile Dash - Galbally

The mile is undergoing something of a renaissance and there were many good times posted in the border village of Galbally. Sean Quirke of Bilboa was 8th in 5:07. Dooneens’ Joe O’Brien was 9th in 5:08. Thomas Blackburn was 11th for the hosts in 5:12. Cormac Downes (Dooneen) finished in 5:19. The An Brú duo of Derek Casey and Eoin O’Loughlin posted times of 5:28 and 5:49 respectively.

Susan Murnane (Limerick AC) followed up victory in Caherdavin with another win here, taking the women’s event in 5:30. Katazrzyna Bobka (An Brú) was 5th in 6:29.

Shandrum AC 5K-Newtown Shandrum

Niall Shanahan of A Brú rounded of a superb year with another victory, smashing the course record in a time of 15:21. Dooneen’s Joe O’Brien was 2nd in 17:38.


Results - January 1 - UL : There were 128 finishers as the unseasonably mild weather continued for this additional 9am staging. Male 1st-Conor Dolan (Galway City Harriers) 17:44,2nd Neil O’Connail 19:05,3rd-Thomas McCarthy 19:26 Female 1st-Gillian Sohun 22:00,2nd-Karen Raine (Dooneen) 22:03,3rd-Noelle Ahern 22:17

December 29 - UL

Male 1st-Thomas Grimes (East London Runners) 18:50,2nd-Andrew McMahon 19:45,3rd-Donnacha O’Dalaigh 19:57 Female 1st-Aisling Ahern (An Brú) 24:10,2nd-Gina O’Connor 24:48,3rd-Marie Bradley 24:49


Niall Tuohy set a new course record, finishing in 1st in 15:58. Holly Brennan was also the 8th fastest woman in Ireland in last weekend with a time of 19:52. Male 1st-15:58, 2nd-Niall McNamara 17:48,3rd-Niall O’Conail 19:09 Female 1st-Holly Brennan 19:52 (Cilles Athletics Club Bettystown), 2nd-Louise Matthews (Dooneen) 23:22,3rd-Emma O’Shea 24:16

Newcastle west

Male 1st-Jurgen Leo Foley 18:45 2nd-Patrick Hough (York Postal Harriers) 22:04 3rd-Oliver Kirwan 22:39 Female 1st-Edwina Revel 25:10,2nd-Helen O’Sullivan 26:15,3rd-Jacinta Kirwan 26:37

Doon GAA 8K Fun Run

Willie O’Donoghue (Moreabbey Milers) took his first win of the year in 29:39.

For more see or use #LLSport on Social media platforms.