Search our Archive


Limerick duo Ardscoil Ris and Hospital chase Harty Cup quarter final places

Limerick duo Ardscoil Ris and Hospital chase Harty Cup quarter final places

Hospital's John the Baptist Community School

QUARTER FINAL places are up for grabs in the Harty Cup this Wednesday, November 21, for two Limerick colleges.

Champions Ardscoil Ris and Hospital’s John the Baptist Community School are both still in contention to reach the January knockout stages but Castletroy College’s season is over.

Ardscoil Ris are bidding to reach a 12th successive quarter final but are under pressure to remain on their title defence after losing to Nenagh CBS in their previous group game.

The Limerick city side play St Colmans College Fermoy in their final group game, in Kilmallock at 1,30, and while there are permutations aplenty, the North Circular Road secondary school know that victory is necessary.

Ardscoil Ris beat Cork's Gaelcholáiste Mhuire an Mhainistir Thuaigh in round one but thee defeat to Nenagh has ensured a tension-filled outing against Fermoy.

While Ardscoil Ris, will need all results to go their way, Hospital have their destiny in their own hands. 

The south Limerick side beat Our Ladys of Templemore in round one.

As Hospital are in a three team group, a win or draw with Blackwater Community School Lismore in Ardfinnan at 1.30, this November 21 will guarantee them progress.

Last year was Hospital’s first season up in the Munster Post Primary Schools Senior A Hurling Championship, when they also reached the quarter final stage – losing narrowly to Templemore.

ARDSCOIL RIS: Matthew De Courcey, Keith Dempsey, Seán Hartney, Seán Long, Emmet McEvoy, Adam McNamara, Mark O'Connor (all Na Piarsaigh); Colin Coughlan, Aidan O'Connor, Barry O’Connor, Luke O'Connor, Conor O’Neill (all Ballybrown); Seán Connolly, Michael Keane, John MacSweeney (all Adare); Cillian Archer and Chams Jagana (both Mungret St Pauls); Dean Kennedy and John Moloney (both Claughaun), Adam Murrihy (Ahane), Cathal O’Neill (Crecora-Manister), Brian Daly (Kilmallock), Shane Hannon (Patrickswell), Seán Begley, Conor Bourke, Jathan McMahon, Aidan Moriarty, Cillian O’Brien, Colm O'Meara. Tom Power (all Clonlara); Storm Devanney, Conor Flynn, Alex Frost, Leon Kelly, Seán McNamara, Evan Murphy (all Sixmilebridge); David Foley, Seán Gallagher, Luke Healy, Evan Keogh (all Cratloe).

HOSPITAL: Bryan Heavey, Peter Morrissey, Michael O’Donnell, Dylan O’Shea, Mark Quinlan, Ryan Tobin, Eoin O’Mahony (all Garryspillane), Alan Buckley, Ethan Dorney, Steven O’Donnell, David Cooke, Patrick Reale (all Knockainey), Darragh Curtin, Jack Franklin, Brian O’Grady (all Kilteely-Dromkeen), Darragh McNamara, Jake Kennedy, Nicholas Tierney (all Caherline), Michael Martin, Rory Hannan, Colm O’Riordan (all Ballybricken-Bohermore), Oisin O’Grady, Killian O’Shea, Killian Reale (all Hospital Herbertstown), Aidan McNamara, Kyran O’Donnell (both Pallasgreen), Patrick Byrne (Fedamore), Kevin Bonar (Bruff), Thomas McDonnell (Glenroe), Conor Burke, Darragh McAuley, Dean Heffernan, Aidan O’Heney (all Emly).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.