Tough day for Limerick competitors at South of Ireland golf championships

Leader Reporter


Leader Reporter


Tough day for Limerick competitors at South of Ireland golf championships

64 players became 32 following today's match play

Andrew McCormack from Castletroy Golf club is the sole remaining Limerick representative at the 2018 South of Ireland championship at Lahinch Golf Club. 

Five Limerick based club players went into the first round of matchplay, where 64 becomes 32, however only one has survived.

With the second round of stroke play singles abandoned yesterday afternoon due to poor weather, the players were out early on the course this morning in some trying conditions. Mc Cormack defeat J Fox of Portmarnock 5/4 in an impressive display which sees him enter the second round of matchplay, where he will face Mark Power of Kilkenny, in what is one of the most prestigious and toughest amateur golf events in the World. 

R Mullarney (Galway) bt M Reddan (Limerick) 7/6;

E Smith (Laytown/B’town) bt J Kehoe (Limerick) 3/2;

G Royston (Cotswold Downs LC, South Africa) bt D Brophy (Castleknock) 3/1;

P O’Keeffe (Douglas)bt M Nolan (Dun Laoghaire) 2H;

J McDonnell (Forrest Little)  bt M Kalfjall (Wasby, Sweeden)  3/2;

H Foley (Royal Dublin)  bt P Connolly (Killeen Castle)  7/5;

R Latimer (Knock)  bt R Williamson (Holywood) 2/1;

J Sugrue (Mallow) bt J Madden (Royal Portrush) 3/1;

R Black (Hilton Templepatrick) bt D Coghlan (Portmarnock) 2/1;

P McKeever (Castle) bt J Ryan (Castletroy) 20th;

J Hickey (Cork)  bt M Norton (Belvoir Park) 1H;

R Moran (Castle) bt T Clarke (Royal Portrush) 1H;

T Neenan (Lahinch) bt C Butler (Kinsale) 3/1;

J Blake (The Island) bt H Duggan (Kilkenny) 1H;

D Foy (Laytown/B’town) bt R Abernethy (Dun Laoghaire) 4/3;

R Lester (Hermitage)  bt M Horan (Birr)  3/2;

J Yates (Naas) bt F O’Sullivan (Tralee) 2/1;

A Fahy (Dun Laoghaire) bt P Kerr (Royal Portrush) 19th;

S Desmond (Monkstown) bt N Carroll (Galway Bay) 3/2;

G O’Flaherty (Cork) bt M McKinstry (Cairndhu) 1H;

R O’Connor (Co Sligo) bt T McLarnon (Massereene) 3/2;

A McCormack (Castletroy) bt J Fox (Portmarnock) 5/4;

S Watts (Cairndhu) bt M O’Kelly (Limerick)  4/3;

M Power (Kilkenny) bt M Boucher (Carton House) 2/1;

A Gleeson (Castle) bt S Greenberg (Tandragee) 6/5;

K Egan (Carton House) bt M McClean (Malone) 2/1;

A Ryan (Thurles) bt P Coughlan (Castleknock) 4/3,

P Murphy (Rosslare) bt R Cannon (Balbriggan) 5/4;

M McCormack (Moss Creek USA) bt J Rackard (Enniscorthy) 2/1,

R Dutton (Tandragee) bt G Ward (Kinsale) 20th,

E Griffin (Waterford) bt R McKeever (Castle) 3/2,

C Rafferty (Dundalk) bt N Hearns (Mount Rath) 6/4;

Draw Match Play Round 3 Saturday am 28 July

No       Time   

1          08:00   Eugene Smith (Laytown/B’town) –v- Peter O’Keeffe (Douglas)

2          08:12   Jack McDonnell (Forrest Little) –v-  James Sugrue (Mallow)

3          08:24   Reece Black (Hilton Templepatrick) –v- John Hickey (Cork)

4          08:36   Jake Blake (The Island) -v- Rowan Lester (Hermitage)

5          08:48   Alan Fahy (Dun Laoghaire) -v- Garry O’Flaherty (Cork)

6          09:00   Andrew McCormack (Castletroy) –v- Mark Power (Kilkenny)

7          09:10   Keith Egan (Carton House) -v- Paul Murphy (Rosslare)

8          09:24   Ross Dutton (Tandragee) -v- Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk)