Limerick club nominated for FAI Club of the Year award

FAI Club of the Year award: Tim Larkin of Broadford United

FAI Club of the Year award: Tim Larkin of Broadford United

The eight nominees for the prestigious FAI Club of the Year have been announced and Broadford United of Limerick have made the eight team shortlist.  
The FAI Club of the Year award, which is now in its 13th year, recognises, celebrates and promotes the inspirational work by clubs around Ireland.

The judges focused on clubs who achieved excellent standards in club management, community engagement, coaching, participation opportunities, and facilities.

The eight nominees are:
Ashbourne United AFC (Meath)
Ballinasloe Town AFC (Galway)
Ballymackey FC (Tipperary)
Broadford Rovers (Dublin)
Broadford United AFC (Limerick)
Colga FC (Galway)
Greystones United AFC (Wicklow)
Gweedore Celtic (Donegal)

The eight clubs will now receive a cheque worth €1,500 as reward for their nomination and will go forward to the final round at the FAI Festival of Football in Cork this August. They will present to the 2018 Club of the Year Judging Panel and the overall winners will then be announced.                               

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.