Limerick minor hurling team revealed to face Tipperary in Munster MHC

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell


Limerick minor hurling team revealed to face Tipperary in Munster MHC

Limerick minor hurling team confirmed

CAPTAIN Kyran O’Donnell is absent from the Limerick minor hurling team to play Tipperary in the Munster MHC on Sunday.

With the Pallasgreen man ruled out Jack Nicholas captains the team from wing back.

There is a new management, a new U-17 age grading and a new format to the championship.

All five Munster counties are guaranteed four group games – each played as curtain-raisers to Munster SHC games.

The top two teams will advance to the Munster MHC final with no backdoor for the other three sides.

Limerick are managed by Antoin Power. The Claughaun man is joined in his backroom team by selectors; John Meskell and Alan Browne, hurling coach Sean Og Herbert, strength and conditioning coach Darragh Droog and liaison officer Paul Dowling.

The minor game on Sunday has a 12noon start ahead of the senior game at 2.00 in the Gaelic Grounds.

LIMERICK: Bryan Heavey (Garryspillane); Padraig Harnett (Ahane), Ben Herlihy (Castletown-Ballyagran), Michael Keane (Adare); Eoin O’Mahony (Garryspillane), Emmet McEvoy (Na Piarsaigh), Jack Nicholas (Murroe-Boher); Dean Kennedy (Claughaun), Barry O’Connor (Ballybrown); Cathal O’Neill (Crecora-Manister), Cormac Ryan (Doon), Diarmuid Hegarty (St Patricks); Colin Coughlan (Ballybrown), Bob Purcell (Doon), Bryan Nix (Newcastle West). Subs: James Mason (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Patrick Kirby (Patrickswell), Cian Casey (Claughaun), Seamus Hurley (Mungret St Pauls), David Hickey (Murroe-Boher), Andrew Shanahan (Ahane), Micheal Martin (Ballybricken-Bohermore), David Riordan (Castletown-Ballyagran), James Conheady (Crecora-Manister). Extended Panel: Conor O’Neill (Ballybrown), Patrick Byrne (Ballybricken-Bohermore), Brian Daly (Kilmallock), Cian Enright (Patrickswell), Jimmy Quilty (Blackrock), Frankie Herr (Effin), Killian Real (Hospital-Herbertstown), Kyran O’Donnell (Pallasgreen), Danny O’Leary (Bruff), Gearoid Lynch (Granagh-Ballingarry).