Munster Rugby confirm Academy departures

Munster Rugby confirm Academy departures

MUNSTER Rugby have confirmed a number of departures from their Academy programme at the end of this season.

Three academy players have already been confirmed for the senior ranks next season, Calvin Nash, Liam O’Connor, and Academy Player of the Year Fineen Wycherley.

The province also confirmed this Tuesday that a number of players, Joey Conway, Conor Fitzgerald, John Foley, Daniel Hurley, Vincent O’Brien, Rob O’Donovan and Jack Power have been released from the programme.

Munster reveal that with the continuing cycle of players coming and going each season, Elite Player Development Manager Peter Malone is in the process of identifying the academy intake ahead of the 2018-19 season.

It is also understood that Sub-Academy contracts are being finalised at present.

2017/18 Greencore Munster Rugby Academy

Promoted: Calvin Nash (Centre/Wing/Young Munster) from year 2, Liam O’Connor (Prop/Cork Con) from year 3, Fineen Wycherley (Lock/Young Munster) from year 2.

Year 3: Gavin Coombes (Backrow/Young Munster), Shane Daly (Centre/Cork Con), Sean O’Connor (Lock/Garryowen).

Year 2: Craig Casey (Scrumhalf/Shannon), Liam Coombes (Back three/Garryowen), Keynon Knox (Prop/UL Bohs), James McCarthy (Fullback/UL Bohs), Alex McHenry (Centre/Cork Con), Matt More (Centre/Garryowen), Jack O’Sullivan (Back row/UCC), Jack Stafford (Scrumhalf/Shannon), Alan Tynan (Outhalf/Young Munster).

Year 1: TBC

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.