Limerick jockey receives prestigious title at Punchestown Festival

Colm Kinsella


Colm Kinsella



Limerick jockey receives prestigious title at Punchestown Festival

Limerick jockey Donal McInerney, from Herbertstown, right, receives his Champion Conditional Rider Award from Minister Michael Creed at Punchestown on Saturday

LIMERICK jockey Donal McInerney was crowned Champion Conditional Jockey this Saturday as the 2017/2018 National Hunt season drew to a conclusion at Punchestown.

In only his second season as a professional, talented Herbertstown jockey Donal McInerney scooped the prestigious champion conditional rider title with an impressive tally of 33 winners. 

In all, McInerney rode winners for 18 different trainers during the term.

McInerney’s highest-profile winners came at Punchestown earlier this week when he won the Friends First Cross Country Steeplechase for the La Touche Cup on the Enda Bolger-trained Auvergnat.

Earlier in the season, at Cork in October, the accomplished Limerick horseman won the Co-Op Handicap Chase again for Bruree-based handler Enda Bolger aboard Ballyoisin.

Among his other highlights this season was a win at Gowran Park in the Holden Plant Rentals Shamrock Handicap Chase on Goulane Chosen for trainer Seamus Spillane, while at Cork again, he won the FBD Insurance Handicap Hurdle on the Noel O’Neill-trained Ministerforsport.

The champions in six categories were presented with their awards at Punchestown racecourse on Saturday afternoon by Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine, Michael Creed TD.

The champions for the 2017/2018 National Hunt season were as follows:

Champion Owner: Gigginstown House Stud

Champion Trainer: Willie Mullins

Champion Jockey: Davy Russell

Champion Conditional: Donal McInerney

Champion Amateur: Patrick Mullins

Champion Lady Amateur Rider: Lisa O’Neill