Limerick Lions crowned All Ireland Basketball champions

Leader Reporter


Leader Reporter


Limerick Lions crowned All Ireland Basketball champions

The victorious side with coaches Foncie McCoy and Brendan Kelly

Limerick Lions U14 are new The All Ireland B Champions 2017/2018. The young Lions travelled to Tralee to contest the play- off stages over the two days.

Their first game on Saturday against Kilkenny Stars saw them win 55-22 to get their challenge on the way. They then had a long wait for their second game  against Letterkenny Blaze with a winning result of 39-14 seeing them through. 

At this stage they qualified for the semi-finals on the Sunday against a strong team from Castleblayney Muckno Lakers that resulted in a narrow win by only one point 35-34. Castleblayney put up a great contest and played very good as a team. 

The final was a nail biting game against a strong Killarney team. Score after the first quarter was 11/9 to the lions with scores from Vincent Uzomefuna, Nathan Stanners and Alfie McCoy. The sides went basket for basket in a low scoring second quarter with scores from Liam Finn, Janis Pliesmanis, Alan Fitzgerald bringing the score to 17/15 for the Lions.

The third quarter the Lions took control with scores from Vincent 1, Nathan 2, Alfie 2 and Janis 2 bringing the score to 24/18. The final quarter the Lions pushed it further out to end with 37-28 for the Lions with a great three pointer from Janis, Nathan 4, Alfie 2, Vincent 2 and
Alan 2 points.

Twenty five teams played in Kerry over the weekend in the boys and girls competitions with over 350 players and coaches creating a festival of basketball in the kingdom of Kerry with all the teams been very well supported. The AICC Cup was presented to Limerick Lions captain Alfie McCoy in jubilant scenes from their good supporters.

Top scorers:
Limerick Lions- Nathan Stanners 10, Janis Pliesmanis 9, Alfie McCoy 7, Vincent Uzomefuna 7.
Killarney Cougars- Jack O Neil 7, Rian Colleran 6, Cian Doyle 4.

Team photo: Front Row: left to right Steven Shaw, Michael Fahy, Christy Carroll, Alan Fitzgerald, Liam
Price, Adam Lengen, Back Row: left to right Pierce O’Rahilly, Joey Fogarty, Vincent Uzomefuna, Liam Finn, Alfie
McCoy, Janis Pliesmanis, Nathan Stanners.
Coaches: Brendan Kelly and Foncie McCoy