07 Oct 2022

Limerick U-21 hurling titles for Newcastle West and Hospital-Herbertstown

Limerick U-21 hurling titles for Newcastle West and Hospital-Herbertstown

Newcastle West win a first county hurling title since 2001

NEWCASTLE West and Hospital-Herbertstown won Limerick U-21 Hurling Championship titles this Saturday.

Newcastle West ended a 21 year wait to win the County U-21 A title with a 2-10 to 2-6 victory over Claughaun-Old Christians in Croagh.

In Caherconlish Hospital-Herbertstown were 0-18 to 1-7 winners over Kilteely-Dromkeen in the U-21 B final.

Newcastle West were 2-3 to 1-4 ahead by half time, after playing against the strong breeze. They had a tonic start with a Jack Downey goal inside 60-seconds. 

Back came the city side and a Dylan Blackhall goal and points from Kevin Howard Ken Byrnes frees had them 1-4 to 1-1 ahead on 20-minutes.

But in the final minute of the half captain Brian Hurley goaled to give Newcastle West a two point interval lead.

Points from Hurley and Bryan Nix maintained the lead in the second half. Claughaun-Old Christians needed a goal but it didn’t arrive until two minutes from time – Blackhall with his second.

Coached by former Limerick and Patrickswell hurler Paul O’Grady, this was a first county hurling championship title for Newcastle West since 2001.

Meanwhile, the U-21 B title was won in some style by Hospital-Herbertstown who had a return of 0-11 from Dylan O’Connor, including nine frees and a sideline.

The winners were 0-13 to 0-3 clear at half time after playing with the aid of the breeze.

Along with O’Connor, the champions had Oisin O’Grady and Michael Whelan in fine form. 

Tyrique Leamy had the Kilteely-Dromkeen goal after 10-minutes of the second half but there was no denying Hospital-Herbertstown the title.

• See the print editions of the Limerick Leader newspaper for full match reports.

To continue reading this article,
please subscribe and support local journalism!

Subscribing will allow you access to all of our premium content and archived articles.


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.