Limerick SFC round-up: Newcaste West and Ballysteen win

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell


Limerick SFC round-up: Newcaste West and Ballysteen win

Newcastle West goal scorer AJ O'Connor

Newcastle West remain unbeaten after two rounds of the Limerick SFC.

Last year’s beaten finalists were 2-8 to 0-9 winners over Fr Caseys this Sunday evening, while Ballysteen had a 2-11 to 0-5 win over Oola.

Newcastle West and Fr Caseys were tied 0-4 each at half time in Athea with the magpies going 0-3 to no score ahead inside 10-minutes.

But Billy Quirke pointed brought the Abbeyfeale men back level. Jamie Lee restored the Newcastle West lead but Quirke again ensured the sides were level at the break.

Newcastle West had two goals in the third quarter to move 2-6 to 0-6 ahead.

The first goal came in the fourth minute of the second half from a Thomas Quilligan penalty, while the second goal came when AJ O’Connor palmed to the net in the 13th minute of the half.

Points from Derry O’Connor and John Riordan replied but Newcastle West held on for the win.

In Clarina, Oola failed to score from play in their 12-points defeat to Ballysteen. Both sides had lost in round one but a William O’Meara goal had Ballysteen 1-5 to 0-3 ahead by half time.

Matthew O’Meara had their second goal in the final five minutes. While Josh Ryan frees accounted for all the Oola total, Ballysteen had three points each from Danny Neville and James O’Meara.