Munster Rugby name 'A' side to take on Leinster in British and Irish Cup

Munster Rugby name 'A' side to take on Leinster in British and Irish Cup

Munster's Calvin Nash is tackled by Brandon Thomson, of Glasgow Warriors, during Friday night's Guinness Pro14 fixture in Cork

Munster 'A' Head Coach Peter Malone has named the Munster A team to face Leinster A in the British and Irish Cup quarter-final at Donnybrook tomorrow (3pm).

Dave Johnston captains the side with fellow senior players Stephen Fitzgerald, Ronan O’Mahony, Bill Johnston, Jeremy Loughman, Kevin O’Byrne, Brian Scott, Darren O’Shea, Dave O’Callaghan and Conor Oliver also in the starting XV.

Fitzgerald starts at full-back with O’Mahony and Academy winger Calvin Nash on either flank.

Dave Johnston and Academy player Alex McHenry team up in the centres with Bill Johnston and Academy scrum-half Jack Stafford, who makes his first appearance in this season’s B&I Cup, in the half-backs.

Loughman, O’Byrne and Scott make up the front row with Academy lock Sean O’Connor and O’Shea in the second row.

O’Callaghan, Oliver and Academy no.8 Jack O’Sullivan are in the back row with O’Sullivan collecting two Man of the Match awards for the Ireland U20s in this season’s 6 Nations campaign.

Mike Sherry and Ciaran Parker provide the front row cover with Academy players John Foley, Alan Tynan and Jack Power also included in the squad.

Cork Constitution’s John Poland, who has been training with the squad all season, and Castleisland native Jack Daly of Garryowen complete the replacements.

Munster A: Stephen Fitzgerald; Calvin Nash, Dave Johnston (C), Alex McHenry, Ronan O’Mahony; Bill Johnston, Jack Stafford; Jeremy Loughman, Kevin O’Byrne, Brian Scott; Sean O’Connor, Darren O’Shea; Dave O’Callaghan, Conor Oliver, Jack O’Sullivan.

Replacements: Mike Sherry, Ciaran Parker, John Foley, Jack Daly, John Poland, Alan Tynan, Jack Power.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.