Limerick-based players start for Ireland U-19s against Japan

Colm Kinsella, Rugby Correspondent


Colm Kinsella, Rugby Correspondent


Limerick-based players start for Ireland U-19s against Japan

Limerick's Conor Hayes, who will start at full-back for Ireland U-19s v Japan this Wednesday, in action for Young Munster against Old Crescent this season

THREE Limerick-based players have been named on the Ireland U-19 side to face Japan this Wednesday, March 28, at Donnybrook, 2pm.

Young Munster’s Ireland U-20 squad member Conor Hayes has been selected at full-back for the international fixture.

Two more Limerick-based players are also included in the backline, Shannon RFC centre Kieran Dunne and Glenstal Abbey’s Munster Schools Senior Cup winning captain Ben Healy, from Kilruane, Co Tipperary, who will play at out-half.

Ireland U-19s ran out 40-29 winners in their first meeting with Japan on Saturday last in a game that featured 10 tries.

Former Garryowen, Munster and Ireland scrum-half Tom Tierney is head coach to the Ireland U-19 side, while Colm McMahon is an assistant coach.

Ireland U19 will also face France U19 in two games in The Sportsground in Galway on the Tuesday, April 3, (5pm kick-off) and Saturday April 7, (2.30pm kick-off).

IRELAND U19: Conor Hayes (Young Munster RFC), Eoghan Barrett (CBC, Cork), Kieran Dunne (Shannon RFC), David Ryan (St Michael's College), Angus Kernohan (Ballymena RFC); Ben Healy (Glenstal Abbey), Colm Reilly (Garbally College); Donnacha Mescal (Blackrock College), Claytan Milligan (Ballynahinch RFC), Michael Milne (Cistercian College, Roscrea); Charlie Ryan (UCD RFC) (Captain), Luke Clohessy (Cistercian College, Roscrea), Martin Moloney (Athy RFC), Jamie Macartney (Campbell College, Belfast), Ruadhan Byron (Belvedere College). Replacements: Dylan Tierney (Corinthians RFC), Shay O'Malley (Hartpury College) – IQ Rugby, Paul McGookin (Ballyclare RFC), Ryan Baird (St Michael’s College), Azur Allison (Ballymena RFC), Graham Curtis (Malone RFC), Conor Kelly (Clontarf FC), Liam Turner (Blackrock College), Scott Penny (St Michael's College), Hugh Lane (Galwegians RFC).