Ireland Women's team named for Welsh clash

Leader Reporter


Leader Reporter


Ireland Women's team named for Welsh clash

Limerick's Nicole Cronin

Ireland Women's head coach Adam Griggs has named his team to take on Wales in the third round of the Women's Six Nations in Donnybrook Stadium this Sunday February 25.

Griggs has made four changes to the side that overcame Italy, 21 – 8, in their last match a fortnight ago.

Ciara O’Connor and Leah Lyons, who both featured off the bench in the opening rounds of the tournament, start alongside Lindsey Peat in the front row. Nichola Fryday is partnered in the second row by Orla Fitzsimons.

Paula Fitzpatrick moves to Number 8 to accommodate the change while captain Ciara Griffin moves to the blindside. Claire Molloy completes the back-row trio.

There is one change in the backline with Claire McLaughlin starting for the injured Alison Miller alongside Megan Williams and Kim Flood.

Sene Naoupu and Katie Fitzhenry are again named at centre with Ailsa Hughes and Niamh Briggs in the half-backs.

Both Briggs and Molloy will receive their 60th international cap.

Ireland Women Team & Replacements (v Wales, 2018 Womens 6 Nations Championship, Donnybrook Stadium, Dublin, Sunday, February 25th, kick-off 3pm)

15 - Kim Flood (Railway Union/ Leinster)
14 - Megan Williams (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)
13 – Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock College/ Leinster)
12 - Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)
11 - Claire McLaughlin (Cooke/ Ulster)
10 - Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemian / Munster)
9 - Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/ Leinster)
1 - Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/ Leinster)
2 - Ciara O'Connor (Galwegians/ Connacht)
3 - Leah Lyons (Highfield/ Munster)
4- Orla Fitzsimons (St Mary's/ Leinster)
5 - Nichola Fryday (Tullamore/ Connacht)
6 - Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemian/ Munster) Captain
7 - Claire Molloy (Bristol)
8 - Paula Fitzpatrick (St Mary's/ Leinster)

16- Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union/ Leinster)
17 - Laura Feely (Galweigians/ Connacht)
18 - Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemian/ Munster)
19 – Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/ Leinster)
20 – Edel McMahon (Galwegians/ Connacht)
21 – Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemians/ Munster)
22 – Michelle Claffey (Blackrock College/ Leinster)
23 – Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)

Ireland Women's Six Nations Fixtures 2018
Saturday 3rd February 2018
France Women 24 v 0 Ireland Women
Sunday 11th February 2018
Ireland Women 21 v 8 Italy Women, 1pm, Donnybrook Stadium, Dublin
Sunday 25th February 2018
Ireland Women v Wales Women, 3pm, Donnybrook Stadium, Dublin
Sunday 11th March 2018
Ireland Women v Scotland Women, 1pm, Donnybrook Stadium, Dublin
Friday 16th March 2016
England Women v Ireland Women, 5.30pm, Ricoh Arena, Coventry