Search our Archive


Limerick Junior A Championship moves to All-County basis

Limerick Junior A Championship moves to All-County basis

A new format for the 2018 Limerick JAFC

THE Limerick Junior A Football Championship is be run on an all-county basis – moving away from the traditional divisional structure.

The move was passed at this Tuesday’s February County Board meeting in Claughaun.

Twenty clubs have entered the new-look championship which will have four groups – guaranteeing each team four games.

“Sean McAuliffe of Hospital-Herbertstown enquired about the JAFC at the first County Board meeting of the year and I met up with Mike O’Riordan and then we discussed it at CCC level and came up with the new format,” outlined new Limerick GAA vice-chairman Seamus McNamara, who doubles up as chairman of the CCC.

All interested junior A football clubs were called to an exploratory meeting before the new structure was debated at the County Board meeting at the end of January.

”At least 90% of the clubs were in favour – the main thing was that clubs and players wanted matches,” McNamara told LeaderSport.

At this week’s County Board meeting there were no dissenting voices, albeit the West Board division officers in particular had raised concerns at the previous meeting.

In the new-look JAFC the top team in each group will advance directly to the county quarter finals – those finishing in second and third will be involved in a play-off to complete the quarter final line-up. The bottom team in each group will find themselves in the relegation battle.

The dates for the group games are: July 8, July 21, August 12, August 18 and September 15.

The draws for groups will be made at a CCC meeting this Thursday night. There will be four seeded teams – Cappamore, Croom, Kilteely-Dromkeen and Fr Caseys. 

The new structure is in place for a two year trial.

The full list of teams is: Oola, Ballybricken-Bohermore, Cappamore, Pallasgreen, Ahane, Kilteely-Dromkeen, South Liberties, Fedamore, Bruree, Ballylanders, Croom, Hospital-Herbertstown, Crecora, Monaleen, Kildimo-Pallaskenry, Ballybrown, Fr Caseys, Newcastle West, Monagea and Cappagh.

Changes to the Junior A Hurling Championship were also ratified at the meeting as part of the overall Master Fixture list.

Three teams from each division will now advance to the knockout stages of the County Championship. The beaten semi finalists in each division will play-off to determine who joins both finalists in the County Championship.

Each divisional winner will advance directly to the county quarter finals with the losing side involved in a preliminary quarter final with the winner of the divisional play-off.

Elsewhere in the Master Fixture list, the opening round of the Premier IHC has been changed. Round One was scheduled for April 12 with three games scheduled before the break for the Munster Championship.

But after concerns were raised by clubs, the Premier IHC will now start on the same weekend as the SHC and IHC on April 19-23.

The Limerick SFC and IFC commences on the weekend of March 29-April 1.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.